Secure Access Service Edge (SASE)

Secure Access Service Edge, or SASE, is an emerging cybersecurity concept. In this video, you understand how the key capabilities of SASE address the demands of growing network sprawl and the challenges of digitally transforming your business.

Versa for Work-From-Home

Versa has made it simple for organizations to offer Secure SD-WAN for Work-From-Home users on home appliances or working from anywhere.

 
 
Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

Transformation du réseau avec la 5G : Edge Compute, SD-WAN et SASE


La promesse de la 5G

La technologie de réseau mobile de cinquième génération (5G) promet des vitesses sans fil ultra-rapides, une latence ultra-faible et des performances puissantes dépassant des dizaines de Gbps.

En dépit des attentes optimistes des consommateurs concernant de nouvelles expériences sensationnelles en matière de jeux en ligne et de réalité virtuelle/augmentée (AR/VR), la perspective plus pratique est que la 5G est prête à transformer le réseau des succursales d’entreprise et l’interconnexion des sites d’entreprise, des clouds et des appareils IdO.

Avec le temps, l’accès 5G devrait remplacer de plus en plus les anciens services WAN et Internet filaires, mais dans l’immédiat, les réseaux traditionnels et 5G doivent coexister. Par conséquent, les entreprises ont besoin d’une stratégie solide qui englobe toutes les technologies câblées et sans fil dans un écosystème de réseau transparent qui respecte les stipulations établies en matière de sécurité et de performance.

Qu’est-ce que la 5G et le Multi-Access Edge Computing (MEC) ?

La technologie 5G est la génération la plus récente de réseaux d’accès mobile, qui remplace les réseaux 2G, 3G et 4G/LTE. La technologie 4G/LTE offrait déjà une grande souplesse de connexion aux succursales des entreprises, le plus souvent utilisée pour le travail à distance (WFA) ou les employés mobiles, les emplacements de périphérie temporaires tels que les kiosques, la connectivité temporaire pendant l’installation de MPLS ou d’autres technologies câblées, et les liaisons de secours pour les succursales câblées. La technologie 5G offre non seulement des vitesses beaucoup plus rapides et une latence plus faible, mais elle a aussi les caractéristiques nécessaires pour devenir la connexion principale – et unique – des bureaux. Les spécifications de l’UIT pour la 5G ont remanié non seulement la capacité et les vitesses d’accès au réseau, mais aussi l’architecture du réseau, ce qui permet de nouvelles opportunités commerciales tout aussi intéressantes pour les cas d’utilisation sans fil fixe et sans fil mobile.

L’infrastructure MEC (Multi-Access Edge Computing) réduit la latence du réseau en rapprochant les ressources de l’utilisateur/de la périphérie. Au lieu que l’utilisateur accède aux ressources du cloud dans un centre de données distant via un accès mobile (le modèle 4G/LTE), l’architecture 5G/MEC amène les données et l’informatique distribuées à la périphérie du réseau 5G. Les applications SaaS utilisant une virtualisation standardisée peuvent être déployées dans le MEC.

Pourquoi la 5G/MEC est-elle importante pour votre entreprise ?


L’environnement 5G/MEC hautement distribué offre de superbes performances aux utilisateurs finaux et des options de connexion sans fil fixe beaucoup plus souples pour les succursales. Mais la réalisation de ces avantages pose également de nouveaux défis.

  • Orchestration de bout en bout des applications et des services dans des environnements multiples
  • La nécessité d’une multi-location fondamentale dans la structure de tous les composants du réseau
  • L’instanciation et la mise à l’échelle automatisées des applications et des services de manière très granulaire et dynamique
  • Routage dynamique et intelligent pour la sélection du meilleur chemin vers n’importe quel nombre de sites MEC hautement distribués, ainsi que vers des sites cloud traditionnels
  • Sécurité de bout en bout entre différents opérateurs, segments de réseau et environnements
  • Un seul et même écran pour surveiller les performances de bout en bout des segments de réseaux frontaux, intermédiaires et dorsaux, ainsi que des nœuds de service MEC

Il y a plusieurs aspects de la transformation 5G à prendre en compte dans la manière dont ils peuvent affecter et bénéficier à votre entreprise. La technologie Secure SD-WAN peut vous aider à tirer le meilleur parti de ces opportunités 5G.

  • Infrastructure réseau 5G définie par logiciel de bout en bout : Votre architecture SD-WAN agnostique en matière de transport permet l’inclusion flexible de n’importe quel chemin de transport, et peut surveiller et appliquer des accords de niveau de service de bout en bout en fonction de vos paramètres de politique.
  • Découpage du réseau 5G défini par logiciel : Le découpage du réseau 5G utilise la virtualisation du réseau pour diviser les connexions réseau uniques en plusieurs « canaux » virtuels qui fournissent différents SLA pour différentes applications ou types de trafic. Votre SD-WAN mappe et intègre les superpositions SD-WAN existantes aux tranches de réseau 5G appropriées pour fournir un contrôle de bout en bout sur les SLA attribués aux différentes applications et types de trafic, tels que l’IdO ou le trafic d’applications en temps réel ou de données.
  • Transport WAN sans fil fixe 5G défini par logiciel : Les services 5G à faible latence et à large bande passante avec SLA permettent aux entreprises de l’utiliser comme transport sans fil fixe pour les succursales.
  • Transformation MEC définie par logiciel : Pour que l’infrastructure 5G tienne ses promesses de faible latence et de haut débit, la périphérie de calcul doit être très proche du réseau. L’utilisation efficace de l’architecture MEC hautement distribuée nécessite des décisions de transport et de routage intelligentes et dynamiques que les capacités SD-WAN offrent.
  • 5G privée : L’utilisation de l’infrastructure sans fil fixe 5G pour fournir des services LAN sans fil d’entreprise peut être rentable dans les succursales. Versa Secure SD-WAN avec SASE offre la sécurité requise par les sites d’entreprise utilisant la 5G pour de tels services.
  • Services Gi/LAN définis par logiciel et pilotés par SASE : L’architecture SASE peut entraîner une transformation de l’architecture des services Gi/LAN en fournissant la protection de sécurité dynamique requise pour les services exécutés dans l’architecture Gi/LAN.

Comment sécuriser les segments 5G/MEC dans votre réseau ?

SASE est le seul cadre, conçu de A à Z, qui permet d’assurer une sécurité de niveau entreprise dans l’écosystème 5G.

La capacité du cadre SASE à sécuriser les sessions de bout en bout sur la base de l’identité et du contexte, indépendamment de l’emplacement ou du transport, est une condition préalable à la sécurisation des transactions et du trafic de l’entreprise sur l’ensemble de l’infrastructure, y compris l’entreprise câblée, l’entreprise sans fil, l’Internet, le mobile traditionnel (LTE) et le transport 5G.

Principales raisons d’utiliser un SD-WAN/SASE sécurisé pour l’adoption de la 5G/MEC par les entreprises

Il est essentiel d’utiliser un Secure SD-WAN – ainsi que ses capacités de sécurité SASE intégrées – pour que votre entreprise tire parti des avantages de la 5G/MEC.

Amélioration du déploiement et de la gestion de l’infrastructure
  • Automatiser le déploiement de la 5G sur des milliers d’appareils avec un véritable « Zero-Touch » grâce à l’orchestrateur SD-WAN.
  • Tirez parti de la mise à l’échelle automatique élastique et de l’intelligence du réseau pour répondre aux demandes de capacité en temps réel.
  • Un SD-WAN consomme de puissantes analyses de Big Data pour offrir une visibilité granulaire de l’IdO, du cloud, des utilisateurs, des appareils, des applications, des SLA et de la sécurité.
  • Un SD-WAN réduit considérablement le CAPEX et l’OPEX en utilisant une architecture uCPE multi-tenant à petit facteur de forme.
Sécurité/SASE
  • SASE offre une sécurité, une visibilité et une télémétrie de bout en bout pour l’infrastructure et les services 5G.
  • SASE renforce la conformité grâce à une posture de sécurité cohérente dans le cloud public, le cloud hybride, sur site et MEC.
  • SASE fournit une gestion à guichet unique pour mettre en œuvre des méthodologies efficaces afin de tirer parti du découpage du réseau 5G pour répondre à une grande variété de cas d’utilisation commerciale, tels que la création d’un écosystème IdO sécurisé.
  • SASE fournit des approches techniques pour gérer efficacement les risques de sécurité de la 5G et les outils pour concevoir des architectures 5G et Gi/LAN privées sécurisées.
Amélioration des services et des performances
  • Un Secure SD-WAN interagit avec le découpage du réseau 5G pour garantir des accords de niveau de service 5G agressifs avec une sécurité de bout en bout.
  • Le SD-WAN permet de mettre en œuvre de manière flexible des services Gi-LAN dans différents facteurs de forme.

Sept façons dont Versa SASE permet la transformation 5GT


1. Basé sur le logiciel, neutre sur le plan matériel

L’architecture 5G nécessite un environnement ouvert, indépendant de la plateforme, dans lequel les composants individuels des plans de contrôle et de données peuvent être virtualisés de manière flexible et consommés de façon distribuée dans les segments de liaison avant, intermédiaire et arrière du réseau 5G. Versa SASE peut être consommé sur n’importe quel serveur cloud ou COTS, et peut être consommé de manière flexible dans différents segments du réseau 5G.

2. Pile multi-service unifiée native dans le cloud

Les réseaux 5G ouverts et programmables ont besoin d’une sécurité et d’une intelligence réseau avancées dès le départ. VOSMC assure la sécurité de la pile complète, le routage de classe opérateur, le SD-WAN et le chaînage des services sur le réseau local, le réseau étendu, le cloud et l’infrastructure mobile. VOSMC est sensible aux applications, agnostique en matière de transport, cloud natif et multi-locataire. L’architecture VOSMC SASE prend en charge une myriade de services de sécurité sur une seule instance VM, notamment ZTNA, NGFW, UTM, DLP, SWG, IPS, filtrage d’URL, proxy SSL, VPN, sandboxing de logiciels malveillants et sécurité DNS. Tous les services sont programmables à partir d’un seul panneau de verre, grâce à Versa Orchestrator.

3. Architecture à passage unique pour de meilleures performances

La 5G promet des accords de niveau de service très agressifs qui exigent des capacités de mise en réseau et de sécurité, – telles que l’analyse avec chiffrement/déchiffrement en ligne – à l’échelle du cloud. Les équipements dédiés à chaque fonction ne peuvent pas évoluer à ce niveau. L’architecture SD-WAN à passage unique de Versa le peut, en garantissant que la majorité des services sont exécutés dans la même pile de services dans le cloud, au même endroit et au même moment.

Versa Single Pass Architecture
4. Multi-locataire compatible avec le cloud

L’infrastructure 5G permet aux opérateurs de réseaux virtuels multiples (Multiple Virtual Network Operators, MVNO) d’utiliser une infrastructure 5G partagée. Le découpage en tranches de la 5G fournit également plusieurs canaux virtuels sur l’infrastructure partagée afin d’offrir des contrats de niveau de service différents. Ces capacités nécessitent une multi-location de tous les composants. Versa SD-WAN assure une ségrégation complète par locataire du trafic du plan de contrôle, du plan de données et du plan de gestion. Chaque locataire peut utiliser une structure RBAC à plusieurs niveaux pour gérer le réseau avec une sécurité segmentée complète.

5. Mise à l’échelle automatique dynamique

L’une des promesses de la 5G est de permettre un écosystème IdO composé d’un grand nombre de dispositifs. Cela nécessite un tissu évolutif basé sur les demandes des utilisateurs, des appareils ou des applications. Versa SD-WAN offre une mise à l’échelle automatique élastique et une intelligence réseau pour répondre aux demandes de capacité en temps réel.

6. Points de présence répartis dans le monde entier

L’une des principales exigences de l’architecture 5G est de découpler les composants du plan de contrôle (tels que AMF, SMF, PCF) et du plan de données (UPF) afin qu’ils puissent être virtualisés, distribués et consommés séparément en fonction des SLA ou des exigences de découpage du réseau. Cela permet de desservir le trafic utilisateur à la périphérie du réseau mobile pour maximiser les performances, mais exige que la sécurité soit également appliquée à la périphérie. La sécurité de Versa SASE peut être consommée sur place ou dans le cloud, et constitue donc un élément clé de l’informatique de périphérie de la 5G.

7. Instanciation du cloud « Zero-Touch »

L’architecture 5G nécessite des centaines de nœuds MEC, des milliers de routeurs de sites cellulaires et plusieurs centaines de milliers (peut-être des millions) d’appareils connectés. Quel que soit le cas d’utilisation, la condition préalable à une instanciation rapide et transparente des différents composants participants n’a jamais été aussi élevée. Grâce à l’automatisation de Versa, les entreprises et les fournisseurs de services Internet peuvent gérer le cycle de vie complet, de la création à l’arrêt, à travers un seul écran, en quelques clics seulement. Cette méthodologie réduit considérablement l’implication opérationnelle et offre l’agilité nécessaire au déploiement de services 5G.

Livre électronique gratuit

SASE
pour les nuls

Découvrez le contexte commercial et technique de SASE, y compris les meilleures pratiques, les déploiements réels chez les clients et les avantages d’une organisation dotée de SASE.

SASE ROI Calculator

SASE can save your company a lot of money. Use the industry’s-first SASE ROI calculator to quantify the cost savings you can achieve in services, asset consolidation, and labor when deploying Versa SASE.

SASE ROI Calculator

SASE can save your company a lot of money. Use the industry’s-first SASE ROI calculator to quantify the cost savings you can achieve in services, asset consolidation, and labor when deploying Versa SASE.

Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Gartner Magic Quadrant for WAN Edge Infrastructure

Gartner Magic Quadrant report analyzes the various vendors in the WAN edge market and Versa is positioned as a Leader.

Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

Network Transformation with 5G: Edge Compute, SD-WAN and SASE


The Promise of 5G

Fifth-generation (5G) mobile network technology promises laser-fast wireless speeds, ultra-low latency and powerful performance exceeding 10s of Gbps.

Despite optimistic consumer expectations of sensational new online gaming and virtual/augmented reality (AR / VR) experiences, the more practical outlook is that 5G is poised to transform enterprise branch networking and the interconnection of enterprise locations, clouds and IoT devices.

Over time, 5G access is expected to increasingly replace older wired WAN and wired internet services, but for the immediate timeframe both legacy and 5G networks must coexist. Enterprises therefore require a sound strategy that encompasses all wired and wireless technologies in a seamless network ecosystem that adhere to established security and performance stipulations.

What is 5G and Multi-Access Edge Computing (MEC)?

5G is the most recent generation of mobile access network technology, superseding earlier 2G, 3G and 4G/LTE networks. 4G/LTE already provided significant enterprise branch connection flexibility, most frequently used for work-from-anywhere (WFA) or mobile employees, temporary edge locations such as kiosks, temporary connectivity while MPLS or other wired technologies are installed, and backup links for wired branch offices. 5G technology not only provides much faster speeds and lower latency, but has the characteristics to become the main—and only—connection for office locations. The ITU specifications for 5G overhauled not only network access capability and speeds, but also the network architecture, enabling new business opportunities that are equally attractive for fixed wireless and mobile wireless use cases.

Multi-Access Edge Computing (MEC) infrastructure reduces network latency by bringing resources closer to the user/edge. Instead of the user accessing cloud resources in a distant data center via mobile access (the 4G/LTE model), 5G/MEC architecture brings distributed data and computing to the edge of the 5G network. SaaS applications using standardized virtualization can be deployed in the MEC.

Why Does 5G/MEC Matter to Your Enterprise?


The highly distributed 5G/MEC environment provides superb end user performance, and significantly more flexible fixed wireless connection options for branch locations. But realizing these benefits also poses new challenges.

  • End-to-end orchestration of applications and services across multiple environments
  • The need for fundamental multi-tenancy in the fabric of all network components
  • Automated instantiation and scaling of applications and services in a highly granular and dynamic manner
  • Dynamic, intelligent routing for best-path selection to any number of highly distributed MEC locations, as well as traditional cloud locations
  • End-to-end security across different operators, network segments and environments
  • A single pane of glass to monitor the end-to-end performance of the front-haul, mid-haul and back-haul network segments, as well as the MEC service nodes

There are several aspects of the 5G transformation to consider in how they may affect, and benefit, your enterprise. Secure SD-WAN technology can help you take best advantage of these 5G opportunities.

  • End-to-End Software-Defined 5G Network Infrastructure: Your transport-agnostic SD-WAN architecture allows for flexible inclusion of any transport path, and can monitor and enforce end-to-end SLAs based on your policy settings.
  • Software-Defined 5G Network Slicing: 5G Slicing uses network virtualization to divide single network connections into multiple virtual “channels” that provide different SLAs for different applications or traffic types. Your SD-WAN maps and integrates the existing SD-WAN overlays to the appropriate 5G network slices to provide end-to-end control over SLAs assigned to different applications and traffic types, such as IoT or real-time or data application traffic.
  • Software-Defined 5G fixed wireless WAN transport: Low-latency, high-bandwidth 5G services with SLAs enable enterprises to use this as fixed wireless transport for branch offices.
  • Software-Defined MEC Transformation: For the 5G infrastructure to deliver on its low-latency, high-throughput promises, the compute edge must be very close to the network. The effective use of the highly distributed MEC architecture requires the intelligent and dynamic transport and routing decisions that SD-WAN capabilities deliver.
  • Private 5G: Using 5G fixed wireless infrastructure to provide enterprise wireless LAN services can be cost-effective at branch locations. Versa Secure SD-WAN with SASE enables the security required by enterprise locations using 5G for such services.
  • Software-Defined SASE-driven Gi/LAN services: SASE architecture can drive a transformation in Gi/LAN service architecture by providing the required dynamic security protection for services running in the Gi/LAN architecture.

How do You Secure 5G/MEC Segments in Your Network?

SASE is the only framework, designed from the ground up, that can enable enterprise-grade security across the 5G ecosystem. The ability of the SASE framework to secure end-to-end sessions based on identity and context, independent of location or transport, is a precondition to secure enterprise transactions and traffic across the entire infrastructure, including wired enterprise, wireless enterprise, internet, traditional mobile (LTE) and 5G transport.

Key Reasons to Use a Secure SD-WAN/SASE for Enterprise 5G/MEC Adoption

It is essential to use a Secure SD-WAN — along with its integral SASE security capabilities — to realize the benefits of 5G/MEC for your organization.

Improved Infrastructure Rollout and Management
  • Automate 5G rollout of 1000’s of devices with true Zero Touch using the SD-WAN orchestrator.
  • Leverage elastic auto-scaling and network intelligence to meet real-time capacity demands.
  • An SD-WAN consumes powerful big data analytics to deliver granular visibility of IoT, cloud, user, device, application, SLA and security insights.
  • An SD-WAN dramatically lowers CAPEX and OPEX by using a small form factor, multi-tenant uCPE architecture.
Security/SASE
  • SASE delivers end-to-end security, visibility, and telemetry for 5G infrastructure and services.
  • SASE enforces compliance through a consistent security posture across public cloud, hybrid cloud, on-premises and MEC.
  • SASE provides single pane of glass management to implement effective methodologies to leverage 5G network slicing to meet a wide variety of business use cases, such as creating a secure IoT ecosystem.
  • SASE provides technical approaches to effectively manage 5G security risks and the tools to design secure private 5G and Gi/LAN architectures.
Improved Services and Performance
  • A Secure SD-WAN interworks with 5G network slicing to guarantee aggressive 5G SLAs with end-to-end security.
  • SD-WAN is the enabler to flexibly implement Gi-LAN services in various form factors.

Seven Ways Versa SASE Enables 5G Transformation


1. Software-based, Hardware-neutral

5G architecture requires an open, platform-agnostic environment where individual control- and data-plane components can be flexibly virtualized and consumed in a distributed manner in the front-haul, mid-haul and back-haul segments of the 5G network. Versa SASE is consumable on any cloud or COTS server, and can be flexibly consumed at different segments of the 5G network.

2. Cloud-native Unified Multi-services Stack

Open, programmable 5G networks need advanced security and networking intelligence from the ground up. VOS™ delivers full stack security, carrier class routing, SD-WAN and service chaining across LAN, WAN, cloud, and mobile infrastructure. VOS™ is application-aware, transport-agnostic, cloud-native and multi-tenant. VOS™ SASE architecture supports myriad security services on a single VM instance, including ZTNA, NGFW, UTM, DLP, SWG, IPS, URL filtering, SSL proxy, VPN, malware sandboxing, and DNS security. All services are programmable via a single pane of glass using the Versa Orchestrator.

3. Single-pass Architecture for Best Performance

5G promises very aggressive SLAs that demand networking and security capabilities—such as scanning with inline encryption/decryption—at cloud scale. Dedicated appliances for each different function cannot scale to this level. Versa’s SD-WAN single-pass architecture can, by ensuring that the majority of services are performed in the same cloud-service stack, at the same location and at the same time.

Versa Single Pass Architecture
4. Cloud-agnostic Multi-tenancy

5G infrastructure enables Multiple Virtual Network Operators (MVNOs) to use a shared 5G infrastructure. 5G slicing also provides multiple virtual channels on shared infrastructure to deliver differing SLAs. These capabilities require multi-tenancy in all components. Versa SD-WAN delivers complete segregation per tenant of control-plane, data-plane and management-plane traffic. Each tenant can use a multi-level RBAC structure to manage the network with full segmented security.

5. Dynamic Auto-scaling

One promise of 5G is to enable an IoT ecosystem of a vast number of devices. This requires a scalable fabric based on user, device, or application demands. Versa SD-WAN delivers elastic auto-scaling and network intelligence to meet real-time capacity demands.

6. Globally Distributed Points of Presence

A key requirement of 5G architecture is to decouple its control-plane (such as AMF, SMF, PCF) and data-plane (UPF) components so that they can be separately virtualized, distributed and consumed based on SLA drivers or network slicing requirements. This allows servicing user traffic at the edge of the mobile network to maximize performance, but requires security also to be enforced at the edge. Versa SASE security can be consumed on-premises or in cloud, thus acting as a key enabler for 5G edge compute.

7. Zero-touch Cloud Instantiation

5G architecture demands the need for 100’s of MEC nodes, 1000’s of cell site routers and several 100,000’s (perhaps millions) of connected devices. Irrespective of the use case, the prerequisite for fast and seamless instantiation of different participating components has never been higher. Leveraging Versa automation, enterprises and ISPs can manage the complete lifecycle from creation to termination through a single pane of glass, in just a few clicks. This methodology significantly cuts down on operational involvement and delivers the agility to roll out 5G services.

Free eBook

SASE
For Dummies

Learn the business and technical background of SASE including best practices, real-life customer deployments, and the benefits that come with a SASE enabled organization.