Secure Access Service Edge (SASE)

Secure Access Service Edge, or SASE, is an emerging cybersecurity concept. In this video, you understand how the key capabilities of SASE address the demands of growing network sprawl and the challenges of digitally transforming your business.

Versa for Work-From-Home

Versa has made it simple for organizations to offer Secure SD-WAN for Work-From-Home users on home appliances or working from anywhere.

 
 
Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

Netzwerktransformation mit 5G: Edge Computing, SD-WAN und SASE


Das Potential von 5G

Die Mobilfunktechnologie der fünften Generation (5G) verspricht ultraschnelle drahtlose Geschwindigkeiten, extrem niedrige Latenzzeiten und eine hohe Leistung von mehr als 10 Gbit/s.

Neben den optimistischen Erwartungen der Verbraucher in Bezug auf sensationelle neue Online-Gaming- und Virtual/Augmented-Reality-Erlebnisse (AR/VR) ist der praktischere Ausblick, dass 5G die Vernetzung von Unternehmensfilialen und die Verbindung von Unternehmensstandorten, Clouds und IoT-Geräten verändern wird.

Langfristig wird erwartet, dass der 5G-Zugang zunehmend ältere kabelgebundene WAN- und kabelgebundene Internetdienste ersetzen wird, aber für den unmittelbaren Zeitrahmen müssen sowohl ältere als auch 5G-Netzwerke koexistieren. Unternehmen benötigen daher eine solide Strategie, die alle kabelgebundenen und kabellosen Technologien in einem nahtlosen Netzwerk-Ökosystem vereint, das die etablierten Sicherheits- und Leistungsanforderungen erfüllt.

Was ist 5G und Multi-Access Edge Computing (MEC)?

5G ist die neueste Generation der mobilen Zugangsnetztechnologie, die die früheren 2G-, 3G- und 4G/LTE-Netze ablöst. 4G/LTE bot bereits eine erhebliche Flexibilität bei der Anbindung von Unternehmensniederlassungen, die am häufigsten für ortsunabhängige oder mobile Mitarbeiter, temporäre Edge-Standorte wie Kioske, temporäre Konnektivität während der Installation von MPLS oder anderen kabelgebundenen Technologien und Backup-Links für kabelgebundene Niederlassungen genutzt wurde. Die 5G-Technologie bietet nicht nur viel schnellere Geschwindigkeiten und geringere Latenzzeiten, sondern verfügt auch über die Eigenschaften, um die wichtigste und einzige Verbindung für Bürostandorte zu werden. Mit den ITU-Spezifikationen für 5G wurden nicht nur die Netzzugangsmöglichkeiten und -geschwindigkeiten verbessert, sondern auch die Netzarchitektur. Dies ermöglicht neue Geschäftsmöglichkeiten, die für Festnetz- und Mobilfunkanwendungen gleichermaßen attraktiv sind.

Die MEC-Infrastruktur (Multi-Access Edge Computing) reduziert die Netzwerklatenz durch die Annäherung von Ressourcen an den Nutzer/Edge. Der Nutzer greift nicht mehr über den mobilen Zugang auf Cloud-Ressourcen in einem weit entfernten Rechenzentrum zu (das 4G/LTE-Modell), sondern die 5G/MEC-Architektur bringt verteilte Daten und Datenverarbeitung an den Rand des 5G-Netzes. SaaS-Anwendungen, die standardisierte Virtualisierung nutzen, können im MEC bereitgestellt werden.

Was bringt 5G/MEC für Ihr Unternehmen?


Die stark verteilte 5G/MEC-Umgebung bietet eine hervorragende Endbenutzerleistung und deutlich flexiblere Optionen für drahtlose Festnetzverbindungen an Niederlassungen. Die Nutzung dieser Vorteile bringt jedoch auch neue Herausforderungen mit sich.

  • Durchgängige Orchestrierung von Anwendungen und Diensten über mehrere Umgebungen hinweg
  • Die Notwendigkeit einer grundlegenden Mandantenfähigkeit in der Struktur aller Netzwerkkomponenten
  • Automatisierte Instanziierung und Skalierung von Anwendungen und Diensten in einer hochgradig granularen und dynamischen Weise
  • Dynamisches, intelligentes Routing für die Auswahl des besten Übertragungsweges zu einer beliebigen Anzahl von hochgradig verteilten MEC-Standorten sowie zu herkömmlichen Cloud-Standorten
  • Durchgängige Sicherheit über verschiedene Betreiber, Netzwerksegmente und Umgebungen hinweg
  • Eine zentrale Schnittstelle zur Überwachung der durchgängigen Leistung der Front-Haul-, Mid-Haul- und Back-Haul-Netzwerksegmente sowie der MEC-Serviceknoten

Im Zusammenhang mit der 5G-Transformation muss Ihr Unternehmen hinsichtlich möglicher Auswirkungen und Vorteile mehrere Aspekte berücksichtigen. Sichere SD-WAN-Technologie kann Ihnen helfen, diese 5G-Möglichkeiten optimal zu nutzen.

  • Durchgängige Software-definierte 5G-Netzwerkinfrastruktur: Ihre transportagnostische SD-WAN-Architektur ermöglicht die flexible Einbeziehung beliebiger Transportpfade und kann auf der Grundlage Ihrer Richtlinieneinstellungen durchgängige SLAs überwachen und durchsetzen.
  • Software-definiertes 5G-Netzwerk-Slicing: 5G Slicing nutzt die Netzwerkvirtualisierung zur Unterteilung einzelner Netzwerkverbindungen in mehrere virtuelle „Kanäle“, die unterschiedliche SLAs für verschiedene Anwendungen oder Verkehrsarten bieten. Ihr SD-WAN bildet die vorhandenen SD-WAN-Overlays ab und integriert sie in die entsprechenden 5G-Netzwerk-Slices, um eine durchgängige Kontrolle über die SLAs zu ermöglichen, die verschiedenen Anwendungen und Datenverkehrstypen zugewiesen sind, z. B. IoT oder Echtzeit- oder Datenanwendungsverkehr.
  • Software-definierter drahtloser 5G-WAN-Transport: 5G-Dienste mit niedriger Latenz und hoher Bandbreite sowie SLAs ermöglichen es Unternehmen, diese als festen drahtlosen Transport für Niederlassungen zu nutzen.
  • Software-definierte MEC-Transformation: Damit die 5G-Infrastruktur ihre Versprechen in Bezug auf niedrige Latenzzeiten und hohen Durchsatz erfüllen kann, muss der Computing Edge sehr nah am Netzwerk liegen. Die effektive Nutzung der stark verteilten MEC-Architektur erfordert die intelligenten und dynamischen Transport- und Routing-Entscheidungen, die SD-WAN-Funktionen bieten.
  • Privates 5G: Die Nutzung von 5G-Festnetzinfrastrukturen zur Bereitstellung von drahtlosen LAN-Diensten für Unternehmen kann an Niederlassungen kostengünstig sein. Versa Secure SD-WAN mit SASE bietet die erforderliche Sicherheit für Unternehmensstandorte, die 5G für solche Dienste nutzen.
  • Software-definierte SASE-gesteuerte Gi/LAN-Dienste: Die SASE-Architektur kann einen Wandel in der Gi/LAN-Dienstarchitektur vorantreiben. Sie bietet den erforderlichen dynamischen Sicherheitsschutz für Dienste, die in der Gi/LAN-Architektur laufen.

So sichern Sie 5G/MEC-Segmente in Ihrem Netzwerk

SASE ist das einzige Framework, das von Grund auf entwickelt wurde und Sicherheit der Enterprise-Klasse im gesamten 5G-Ökosystem ermöglichen kann.

Die Fähigkeit des SASE-Frameworks, durchgängige Sitzungen auf der Grundlage von Identität und Kontext unabhängig von Standort oder Transport zu sichern, ist eine Voraussetzung für die Sicherung von Unternehmenstransaktionen und Datenverkehr über die gesamte Infrastruktur, einschließlich kabelgebundener Unternehmen, drahtloser Unternehmen, Internet, herkömmlicher Mobilfunk (LTE) und 5G-Transport.

SD-WAN/SASE für die 5G/MEC-Einführung im Unternehmen

Der Einsatz eines Secure SD-WAN zusammen mit den integrierten SASE-Sicherheitsfunktionen ist von entscheidender Bedeutung, damit Ihr Unternehmen die Vorteile von 5G/MEC nutzen kann.

Verbesserter Infrastrukturaufbau und -verwaltung
  • Automatisieren Sie die 5G-Einführung von Tausenden von Geräten mit echtem Zero Touch durch den SD-WAN-Orchestrator.
  • Nutzen Sie elastische automatische Skalierung und Netzwerkintelligenz, um Kapazitätsanforderungen in Echtzeit zu erfüllen.
  • Ein SD-WAN nutzt leistungsstarke Big Data-Analysen, um granulare Einblicke in IoT, Cloud, Benutzer, Geräte, Anwendungen, SLA und Sicherheit zu liefern.
  • Ein SD-WAN senkt die CAPEX und OPEX durch die Verwendung einer mandantenfähigen uCPE-Architektur mit kleinem Formfaktor erheblich.
Sicherheit/SASE
  • SASE bietet durchgängige Sicherheit, Transparenz und Telemetrie für 5G-Infrastrukturen und -Dienste.
  • SASE sorgt für Compliance durch einen konsistenten Sicherheitszustand in der Public Cloud, Hybrid Cloud, am Standort und im MEC.
  • SASE bietet eine zentrale Schnittstelle für die Implementierung effektiver Methoden zur Nutzung von 5G-Netzwerk-Slicing, um eine Vielzahl von geschäftlichen Anwendungsfällen zu erfüllen, z. B. die Schaffung eines sicheren IoT-Ökosystems.
  • SASE bietet technische Ansätze zur effektiven Bewältigung von 5G-Sicherheitsrisiken und die Tools zur Entwicklung sicherer privater 5G- und Gi/LAN-Architekturen.
Verbesserte Dienste und Leistung
  • Ein Secure SD-WAN arbeitet mit 5G Netzwerk-Slicing zusammen, um aggressive 5G SLAs mit durchgängiger Sicherheit zu garantieren.
  • SD-WAN ermöglicht die flexible Implementierung von Gi-LAN-Diensten in verschiedenen Formfaktoren.

Sieben Wege, wie Versa SASE die 5G-Transformation ermöglicht


1. Software-basiert, Hardware-neutral

Die 5G-Architektur erfordert eine offene, plattformunabhängige Umgebung, in der einzelne Komponenten der Kontroll- und Datenebene flexibel virtualisiert und in den Front-Haul-, Mid-Haul- und Back-Haul-Segmenten des 5G-Netzwerks verteilt genutzt werden können. Versa SASE lässt sich auf jedem Cloud- oder COTS-Server nutzen und kann flexibel in verschiedenen Segmenten des 5G-Netzes eingesetzt werden.

2. Cloud-nativer einheitlicher Mehrfachdienst-Stack

Offene, programmierbare 5G-Netzwerke benötigen von Grund auf fortschrittliche Sicherheits- und Netzwerkintelligenz. VOS™ bietet Full-Stack-Sicherheit, Carrier-Grade-Routing, SD-WAN und Dienstleistungsverkettung über LAN, WAN, Cloud und mobile Infrastruktur. VOS™ ist anwendungsorientiert, transportunabhängig, Cloud-nativ und mehrmandantenfähig. Die VOS™ SASE-Architektur unterstützt eine Vielzahl von Sicherheitsdiensten auf einer einzigen VM-Instanz, darunter ZTNA, NGFW, UTM, DLP, SWG, IPS, URL-Filterung, SSL-Proxy, VPN, Malware-Sandboxing und DNS-Sicherheit. Alle Dienste sind über den Versa Orchestrator über eine zentrale Schnittstelle programmierbar.

3. Single-Pass-Architektur für beste Leistung

5G verspricht sehr strenge SLAs, die Netzwerk- und Sicherheitsfunktionen wie Scanning mit Inline-Verschlüsselung/Entschlüsselung auf Cloud-Ebene erfordern. Dedizierte Geräte für jede einzelne Funktion können nicht auf dieses Niveau skaliert werden. Die SD-WAN-Single-Pass-Architektur von Versa kann dies, indem sie sicherstellt, dass die meisten Dienste im selben Cloud-Service-Stack, am selben Ort und zur selben Zeit ausgeführt werden.

4. Cloudunabhängige Mandantenfähigkeit

Mit der 5G-Infrastruktur können mehrere virtuelle Netzbetreiber (MVNOs) eine gemeinsame 5G-Infrastruktur nutzen. 5G-Slicing bietet zudem mehrere virtuelle Kanäle auf einer gemeinsamen Infrastruktur, um unterschiedliche SLAs zu ermöglichen. Diese Fähigkeiten erfordern Mandantenfähigkeit in allen Komponenten. Versa SD-WAN bietet eine vollständige Trennung des Verkehrs auf der Steuerebene, der Datenebene und der Verwaltungsebene pro Mandant. Jeder Mandant kann eine mehrstufige RBAC-Struktur verwenden, um das Netzwerk mit vollständiger segmentierter Sicherheit zu verwalten.

5. Dynamische automatische Skalierung

Die 5G-Technologie verspricht, ein IoT-Ökosystem mit einer großen Anzahl von Geräten zu ermöglichen. Dies erfordert eine skalierbare Struktur, die auf den Anforderungen von Benutzern, Geräten oder Anwendungen basiert. Versa SD-WAN bietet elastische automatische Skalierung und Netzwerkintelligenz, um Kapazitätsanforderungen in Echtzeit zu erfüllen.

6. Global verteilte Points of Presence

Eine zentrale Anforderung an die 5G-Architektur ist die Entkopplung der Komponenten der Steuerebene (z. B. AMF, SMF, PCF) und der Datenebene (UPF), so dass sie separat virtualisiert, verteilt und auf der Grundlage von SLA-Treibern oder Netzwerk-Slicing-Anforderungen genutzt werden können. Dadurch kann der Benutzerverkehr zur Maximierung der Leistung am Rande des Mobilfunknetzes bedient werden, aber die Sicherheit muss auch am Rande durchgesetzt werden. Die Sicherheit von Versa SASE kann sowohl am Standort als auch in der Cloud genutzt werden und ist somit eine wichtige Voraussetzung für 5G Edge Computing.

7. Zero-Touch-Cloud-Instantiierung

Die 5G-Architektur erfordert Hunderte von MEC-Knoten, Tausende von Mobilfunk-Routern und mehrere 100.000 (vielleicht Millionen) von angeschlossenen Geräten. Ganz gleich, um welchen Anwendungsfall es sich handelt, die Voraussetzung für eine schnelle und nahtlose Instanziierung der verschiedenen beteiligten Komponenten war noch nie so hoch. Durch die Nutzung der Versa-Automatisierung können Unternehmen und ISPs den gesamten Lebenszyklus von der Erstellung bis zur Beendigung über eine zentrale Schnittstelle und mit nur wenigen Klicks verwalten. Diese Methodik reduziert den operativen Aufwand erheblich und bietet die nötige Flexibilität für die Einführung von 5G-Diensten.

Kostenloses eBook

SASE
For Dummies

Lernen Sie die geschäftlichen und technischen Hintergründe von SASE kennen, einschließlich bewährter Verfahren, realer Kundenimplementierungen und der Vorteile, die sich aus einer SASE-fähigen Organisation ergeben.

SASE ROI Calculator

SASE can save your company a lot of money. Use the industry’s-first SASE ROI calculator to quantify the cost savings you can achieve in services, asset consolidation, and labor when deploying Versa SASE.

SASE ROI Calculator

SASE can save your company a lot of money. Use the industry’s-first SASE ROI calculator to quantify the cost savings you can achieve in services, asset consolidation, and labor when deploying Versa SASE.

Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Gartner Magic Quadrant for WAN Edge Infrastructure

Gartner Magic Quadrant report analyzes the various vendors in the WAN edge market and Versa is positioned as a Leader.

Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

Network Transformation with 5G: Edge Compute, SD-WAN and SASE


The Promise of 5G

Fifth-generation (5G) mobile network technology promises laser-fast wireless speeds, ultra-low latency and powerful performance exceeding 10s of Gbps.

Despite optimistic consumer expectations of sensational new online gaming and virtual/augmented reality (AR / VR) experiences, the more practical outlook is that 5G is poised to transform enterprise branch networking and the interconnection of enterprise locations, clouds and IoT devices.

Over time, 5G access is expected to increasingly replace older wired WAN and wired internet services, but for the immediate timeframe both legacy and 5G networks must coexist. Enterprises therefore require a sound strategy that encompasses all wired and wireless technologies in a seamless network ecosystem that adhere to established security and performance stipulations.

What is 5G and Multi-Access Edge Computing (MEC)?

5G is the most recent generation of mobile access network technology, superseding earlier 2G, 3G and 4G/LTE networks. 4G/LTE already provided significant enterprise branch connection flexibility, most frequently used for work-from-anywhere (WFA) or mobile employees, temporary edge locations such as kiosks, temporary connectivity while MPLS or other wired technologies are installed, and backup links for wired branch offices. 5G technology not only provides much faster speeds and lower latency, but has the characteristics to become the main—and only—connection for office locations. The ITU specifications for 5G overhauled not only network access capability and speeds, but also the network architecture, enabling new business opportunities that are equally attractive for fixed wireless and mobile wireless use cases.

Multi-Access Edge Computing (MEC) infrastructure reduces network latency by bringing resources closer to the user/edge. Instead of the user accessing cloud resources in a distant data center via mobile access (the 4G/LTE model), 5G/MEC architecture brings distributed data and computing to the edge of the 5G network. SaaS applications using standardized virtualization can be deployed in the MEC.

Why Does 5G/MEC Matter to Your Enterprise?


The highly distributed 5G/MEC environment provides superb end user performance, and significantly more flexible fixed wireless connection options for branch locations. But realizing these benefits also poses new challenges.

  • End-to-end orchestration of applications and services across multiple environments
  • The need for fundamental multi-tenancy in the fabric of all network components
  • Automated instantiation and scaling of applications and services in a highly granular and dynamic manner
  • Dynamic, intelligent routing for best-path selection to any number of highly distributed MEC locations, as well as traditional cloud locations
  • End-to-end security across different operators, network segments and environments
  • A single pane of glass to monitor the end-to-end performance of the front-haul, mid-haul and back-haul network segments, as well as the MEC service nodes

There are several aspects of the 5G transformation to consider in how they may affect, and benefit, your enterprise. Secure SD-WAN technology can help you take best advantage of these 5G opportunities.

  • End-to-End Software-Defined 5G Network Infrastructure: Your transport-agnostic SD-WAN architecture allows for flexible inclusion of any transport path, and can monitor and enforce end-to-end SLAs based on your policy settings.
  • Software-Defined 5G Network Slicing: 5G Slicing uses network virtualization to divide single network connections into multiple virtual “channels” that provide different SLAs for different applications or traffic types. Your SD-WAN maps and integrates the existing SD-WAN overlays to the appropriate 5G network slices to provide end-to-end control over SLAs assigned to different applications and traffic types, such as IoT or real-time or data application traffic.
  • Software-Defined 5G fixed wireless WAN transport: Low-latency, high-bandwidth 5G services with SLAs enable enterprises to use this as fixed wireless transport for branch offices.
  • Software-Defined MEC Transformation: For the 5G infrastructure to deliver on its low-latency, high-throughput promises, the compute edge must be very close to the network. The effective use of the highly distributed MEC architecture requires the intelligent and dynamic transport and routing decisions that SD-WAN capabilities deliver.
  • Private 5G: Using 5G fixed wireless infrastructure to provide enterprise wireless LAN services can be cost-effective at branch locations. Versa Secure SD-WAN with SASE enables the security required by enterprise locations using 5G for such services.
  • Software-Defined SASE-driven Gi/LAN services: SASE architecture can drive a transformation in Gi/LAN service architecture by providing the required dynamic security protection for services running in the Gi/LAN architecture.

How do You Secure 5G/MEC Segments in Your Network?

SASE is the only framework, designed from the ground up, that can enable enterprise-grade security across the 5G ecosystem. The ability of the SASE framework to secure end-to-end sessions based on identity and context, independent of location or transport, is a precondition to secure enterprise transactions and traffic across the entire infrastructure, including wired enterprise, wireless enterprise, internet, traditional mobile (LTE) and 5G transport.

Key Reasons to Use a Secure SD-WAN/SASE for Enterprise 5G/MEC Adoption

It is essential to use a Secure SD-WAN — along with its integral SASE security capabilities — to realize the benefits of 5G/MEC for your organization.

Improved Infrastructure Rollout and Management
  • Automate 5G rollout of 1000’s of devices with true Zero Touch using the SD-WAN orchestrator.
  • Leverage elastic auto-scaling and network intelligence to meet real-time capacity demands.
  • An SD-WAN consumes powerful big data analytics to deliver granular visibility of IoT, cloud, user, device, application, SLA and security insights.
  • An SD-WAN dramatically lowers CAPEX and OPEX by using a small form factor, multi-tenant uCPE architecture.
Security/SASE
  • SASE delivers end-to-end security, visibility, and telemetry for 5G infrastructure and services.
  • SASE enforces compliance through a consistent security posture across public cloud, hybrid cloud, on-premises and MEC.
  • SASE provides single pane of glass management to implement effective methodologies to leverage 5G network slicing to meet a wide variety of business use cases, such as creating a secure IoT ecosystem.
  • SASE provides technical approaches to effectively manage 5G security risks and the tools to design secure private 5G and Gi/LAN architectures.
Improved Services and Performance
  • A Secure SD-WAN interworks with 5G network slicing to guarantee aggressive 5G SLAs with end-to-end security.
  • SD-WAN is the enabler to flexibly implement Gi-LAN services in various form factors.

Seven Ways Versa SASE Enables 5G Transformation


1. Software-based, Hardware-neutral

5G architecture requires an open, platform-agnostic environment where individual control- and data-plane components can be flexibly virtualized and consumed in a distributed manner in the front-haul, mid-haul and back-haul segments of the 5G network. Versa SASE is consumable on any cloud or COTS server, and can be flexibly consumed at different segments of the 5G network.

2. Cloud-native Unified Multi-services Stack

Open, programmable 5G networks need advanced security and networking intelligence from the ground up. VOS™ delivers full stack security, carrier class routing, SD-WAN and service chaining across LAN, WAN, cloud, and mobile infrastructure. VOS™ is application-aware, transport-agnostic, cloud-native and multi-tenant. VOS™ SASE architecture supports myriad security services on a single VM instance, including ZTNA, NGFW, UTM, DLP, SWG, IPS, URL filtering, SSL proxy, VPN, malware sandboxing, and DNS security. All services are programmable via a single pane of glass using the Versa Orchestrator.

3. Single-pass Architecture for Best Performance

5G promises very aggressive SLAs that demand networking and security capabilities—such as scanning with inline encryption/decryption—at cloud scale. Dedicated appliances for each different function cannot scale to this level. Versa’s SD-WAN single-pass architecture can, by ensuring that the majority of services are performed in the same cloud-service stack, at the same location and at the same time.

Versa Single Pass Architecture
4. Cloud-agnostic Multi-tenancy

5G infrastructure enables Multiple Virtual Network Operators (MVNOs) to use a shared 5G infrastructure. 5G slicing also provides multiple virtual channels on shared infrastructure to deliver differing SLAs. These capabilities require multi-tenancy in all components. Versa SD-WAN delivers complete segregation per tenant of control-plane, data-plane and management-plane traffic. Each tenant can use a multi-level RBAC structure to manage the network with full segmented security.

5. Dynamic Auto-scaling

One promise of 5G is to enable an IoT ecosystem of a vast number of devices. This requires a scalable fabric based on user, device, or application demands. Versa SD-WAN delivers elastic auto-scaling and network intelligence to meet real-time capacity demands.

6. Globally Distributed Points of Presence

A key requirement of 5G architecture is to decouple its control-plane (such as AMF, SMF, PCF) and data-plane (UPF) components so that they can be separately virtualized, distributed and consumed based on SLA drivers or network slicing requirements. This allows servicing user traffic at the edge of the mobile network to maximize performance, but requires security also to be enforced at the edge. Versa SASE security can be consumed on-premises or in cloud, thus acting as a key enabler for 5G edge compute.

7. Zero-touch Cloud Instantiation

5G architecture demands the need for 100’s of MEC nodes, 1000’s of cell site routers and several 100,000’s (perhaps millions) of connected devices. Irrespective of the use case, the prerequisite for fast and seamless instantiation of different participating components has never been higher. Leveraging Versa automation, enterprises and ISPs can manage the complete lifecycle from creation to termination through a single pane of glass, in just a few clicks. This methodology significantly cuts down on operational involvement and delivers the agility to roll out 5G services.

Free eBook

SASE
For Dummies

Learn the business and technical background of SASE including best practices, real-life customer deployments, and the benefits that come with a SASE enabled organization.