Secure Access Service Edge (SASE)

Secure Access Service Edge, or SASE, is an emerging cybersecurity concept. In this video, you understand how the key capabilities of SASE address the demands of growing network sprawl and the challenges of digitally transforming your business.

Versa for Work-From-Home

Versa has made it simple for organizations to offer Secure SD-WAN for Work-From-Home users on home appliances or working from anywhere.

 
 
Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

« Qu’est-ce que SASE (Secure Access Service Edge) ?


SASE (Secure Access Service Edge) est une technologie dans le cloud qui fait de la sécurité du réseau une fonction intégrale et intégrée à la structure du réseau. SASE supplante les services existants offerts par des solutions ponctuelles à usage unique situées dans des locaux d’entreprise verrouillés, tels que des centres de données.

L’étude de Gartner intitulée « The Future of Network Security Is in the Cloud » indique que, dans l’économie numérique, la sécurité n’est plus axée sur le centre de données mais sur l’identité de l’utilisateur ou de l’appareil, en conjonction avec le contexte des données de la session de communication. Les anciennes solutions de sécurité superposées ne parviennent pas à fournir l’agilité, la flexibilité, la connectivité et la sécurité requises dans la trame du réseau qui tisse l’économie numérique : cloud natif, mobile, tout connecté.

Gartner prévoit que d’ici 2023, 20 % des entreprises auront adopté les fonctionnalités SWG, CASB, ZTNA et FWaaS de succursale du même fournisseur, contre moins de 5 % en 2019. Et d’ici 2024, au moins 40 % des entreprises auront des stratégies explicites pour adopter le SASE, contre moins de 1 % à la fin de l’année 2018.

Comment SASE a modifié les attributs de conception des réseaux

Les conceptions de réseau en étoile fonctionnaient bien lorsque le centre de données était le cœur de votre entreprise et que les succursales périphériques accédaient au cœur. Historiquement, les sites étaient stationnaires et les succursales un nombre gérable et connu. Votre centre de données hébergeait les applications. Seule une petite partie des employés travaillait à partir de sites hors site. Le travail sensible à la sécurité restait sur place.

La sécurité du réseau de l’entreprise dépendait du périmètre du réseau : pare-feu sophistiqués dans le centre de données ; rebondissement de tout le trafic Internet via les pare-feu du centre de données, ce qui entraîne une latence ; appareils de protection contre les intrusions dans les succursales ; tunnels VPN pour un accès limité hors site.

Les tendances de la transformation numérique bouleversent la conception des réseaux


Les réseaux rigides d’hier ne fonctionnent pas dans l’économie numérique. De nombreuses tendances se sont mêlées dans une transformation numérique qui a bouleversé tous les principes des conceptions de réseau et des modèles de trafic existants.

  • Le cœur de votre entreprise est désormais « le réseau » : des clouds privés et publics de réseaux de pairs interconnectés.
  • Les applications flottent autour de ces clouds. Elles sont accessibles de partout.
  • La connectivité Internet est bon marché, omniprésente et disponible instantanément sur les réseaux cellulaires. La « sécurité » des liaisons MPLS n’est plus abordable ni pratique.
  • Les applications et les données d’entreprise vivent dans le cloud sur des plateformes virtuelles évolutives qui se développent ou se réduisent à la demande pour s’adapter au climat de votre entreprise. Leur emplacement physique est sans importance.
  • Le cycle de vie des produits matériels a été remplacé par des abonnements basés sur l’utilisation de ressources virtuelles natives du cloud, au moment et à l’endroit voulus.
  • Une explosion d’appareils (IdO) connectés partout : capteurs, voitures, bétail, inventaire, contrôle, suivi, surveillance, travailleurs AI, appareils ménagers. Ces appareils sont souvent dépourvus de fonctions de sécurité, même rudimentaires.
  • Les appareils des utilisateurs sont de type Bring-Your-Own-Device (BYOD) : mobiles, personnels (non contrôlés par l’informatique), toujours connectés, exécutant des logiciels, des applications et des connexions réseau choisis par l’utilisateur ; ils sont utilisés de manière interchangeable à des fins personnelles et professionnelles.
  • Les modèles de trafic sont maillés, de type « any-to-any », et ne se prêtent absolument pas aux VPN.

Les réseaux ne sont pas les seuls à changer

Dans une évaluation des tendances sectorielles, Zeus Kerravala, analyste principal chez ZK Research, constate que 51 % des chefs d’entreprise ne savent pas à quoi ressemblera leur secteur en 2023 ; 48 % craignent que leur entreprise ne soit obsolète d’ici cinq ans ; 55 % des membres du Fortune-1000 de l’année 2000 ont disparu ; et ils s’attendent à un renouvellement de 50 % du S&P au cours des cinq prochaines années.

Les directives mondiales de distanciation sociale en raison de la COVID-19 ont entraîné des changements considérables dans les paysages du travail à domicile, des communications vidéo et de l’enseignement à distance. Les modèles de trafic d’Internet, des fournisseurs de services et des entreprises sont définitivement modifiés.

SASE, architecture du cloud natif

L’agilité nécessaire pour faire face à ces changements est essentielle pour survivre dans l’économie numérique. Un blog de Gartner rédigé par Andrew Lerner définit le SASE comme la convergence des services de réseau étendu (WAN) et de sécurité réseau tels que CASB, FWaaS et Zero Trust (ZTNA) en un modèle de service unique, cloud natif.

SASE offre des capacités clés

SASE offre les attributs nécessaires pour faire face à la transformation numérique :

  • Vous disposez d’une flexibilité totale pour déterminer où et quand les services de sécurité sont appliqués lorsque la sécurité fait partie intégrante de la structure du réseau. Les modèles de trafic maillé sont gérés avec efficacité.
  • La sécurité est axée sur les politiques, indépendante de l’emplacement et largement indépendante du dispositif. Les services de sécurité sont ainsi basés sur l’identité de l’utilisateur et non sur un dispositif contrôlé par l’informatique, un point d’accès au réseau (Internet, cloud, entreprise, VPN) ou un emplacement.
  • SASE applique la sécurité en fonction de la session de communication et peut donc prendre en considération l’identité de l’utilisateur et du dispositif ainsi que le contexte des données de la transaction.
  • SASE est un service purement défini par logiciel et ne dépend d’aucun appareil ou emplacement matériel.
  • SASE peut être appliqué à la périphérie logique du réseau, en constante évolution (une session de communication), plutôt qu’à la « périphérie » physique (un appareil contrôlé par l’informatique ou un bureau d’entreprise).
  • De nombreux appareils IdO ont peu ou pas de capacités de sécurité locales. SASE, avec la sécurité dans la structure du réseau, peut connecter ces appareils en toute sécurité.

FAQ sur SASE


Quels sont les principaux composants de SASE ?

SASE est un ensemble de technologies qui intègre la sécurité dans la structure globale du réseau. Les principaux composants de SASE sont le WAN défini par logiciel (SD-WAN), le Cloud Access Security Broker (CASB), le NGFW et le Firewall-as-a-Service (FWaaS), le Zero Trust Network Access (ZTNA) et les Secure Web Gateways (SWG). 

Qu’est-ce qu’une passerelle Web sécurisée (Secure Web Gateway) ?

Secure Web Gateway (SWG) est un service hébergé sur l’appareil d’un utilisateur et exécutant une série de fonctions de sécurité afin de protéger l’utilisateur de toute menace potentielle sur le Web. SWG est une solution de sécurité importante qui empêche la fuite de données sur le Web, protège les travaux mobiles, contrôle et autorise l’accès des utilisateurs et fournit des analyses granulaires du trafic en temps réel. 

Qu’est-ce qu’un ZTNA ?

Accès réseau à confiance zéro (Zero Trust Network Access, ZTNA) est une approche du réseau et de la sécurité où l’identité, le contexte et l’intention d’un utilisateur, d’un appareil et d’une application sont vérifiés en permanence pour établir la confiance. Seuls les utilisateurs et les dispositifs de confiance sont autorisés à accéder aux ressources situées dans un réseau d’entreprise. 

Qu’est-ce que l’architecture SASE ?

Le cœur de l’architecture SASE est constitué des utilisateurs, des appareils, des applications et des ressources, ainsi que de l’identité, des risques, des rôles, des profils, des privilèges et des politiques qui régissent l’accès entre eux. L’architecture SASE est la convergence et l’inversion des architectures de réseau et de sécurité. 

Comment adopter SASE ?

SASE englobe une combinaison de technologies de réseau et de sécurité. Certains experts s’attendent à ce que les entreprises adoptent une approche hybride de SASE : elles utiliseront les systèmes de sécurité et de mise en réseau existants, tout en mettant progressivement en œuvre la technologie SASE pour faire évoluer un grand nombre d’appareils non gérés, d’utilisateurs WFA et de ressources hébergées dans le cloud. 

Quels sont les défis posés par SASE ?

Comme pour l’adoption de toute nouvelle technologie, SASE peut présenter des difficultés. Certains points à prendre en compte lors de l’évaluation de SASE sont l’évolutivité de l’architecture SASE proposée, la distribution des passerelles de cloud, les compétences des fournisseurs de SASE, ainsi que l’intégration et l’interopérabilité de la solution SASE. Le choix de la bonne stratégie SASE peut faciliter la réussite de la mise en œuvre. 

Pourquoi SASE est-il nécessaire ?

SASE est nécessaire à l’ère moderne du client vers le cloud, permettant une adoption efficace du cloud et de la transformation numérique, une performance cohérente du cloud pour les utilisateurs WFA et mobiles, une application omniprésente des politiques sur l’ensemble de votre réseau, la sécurisation des appareils non gérés, des renseignements sophistiqués et à jour sur les menaces et la simplification de la gestion informatique. 

Quel type d’entreprise devrait utiliser SASE ?

Les organisations, grandes et petites, bénéficient de SASE parce qu’il est natif du cloud, simple et sécurisé. Les entreprises qui utilisent SASE peuvent mettre en place des environnements de travail à distance (WFA) sûrs et fiables et un accès sécurisé tout en maintenant leur taux d’adoption du cloud computing. 

Quels sont les principaux avantages de SASE ?

SASE offre de nombreux avantages en consolidant les fonctions de réseau et de sécurité traditionnellement fournies par des produits ponctuels. Les avantages comprennent la réduction des coûts et de la complexité, la mise en place d’un modèle de moindre privilège, l’application cohérente des politiques, la réduction de la surface d’attaque globale et l’offre d’une expérience utilisateur transparente. 

Comment SASE peut-il vous aider, vous et votre organisation ?

SASE peut aider votre organisation de plusieurs façons, que ce soit en résolvant les problèmes liés aux architectures WAN traditionnelles, en présentant de nouvelles opportunités de transformation numérique pour votre entreprise ou en augmentant l’efficacité du personnel informatique. Parmi les autres avantages, citons : la réduction des coûts et de la complexité informatique, la sécurisation des utilisateurs distants et mobiles, la garantie d’une politique cohérente sur l’ensemble de votre réseau et l’optimisation des performances du réseau et de l’expérience utilisateur. 

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)


Versa offre une solution SASE convergente unique en son genre, sous la forme d’une offre intégrée à pile unique, uniquement logicielle et indépendante du matériel, qui s’adapte aux besoins de tout réseau.

  • Le système d’exploitation Versa (VOS™) est un logiciel multi-service et multi-locataire construit sur les principes du cloud pour offrir échelle, segmentation, programmabilité et automatisation. Il fournit des fonctions intégrées de mise en réseau et de sécurité dans une seule pile logicielle.
  • Versa Director simplifie et automatise l’orchestration des services réseau et de sécurité.
  • Versa Analytics offre une visibilité, une corrélation et une analyse prédictive des événements liés au réseau, à l’utilisation des applications et à la sécurité.

Versa SASE intègre des fonctionnalités essentielles pour permettre une connectivité transparente et sécurisée à l’échelle mondiale.

  • Multi-service avec sécurité en couches : Services réseau L3-L7 intégrés avec plusieurs couches de sécurité robuste.
  • Cloud natif et élastique : Construit sur les principes du cloud pour l’élasticité et l’automatisation.
  • Segmentation : La fonction de multi-location permet une isolation complète.
  • Politique basée sur le contexte : Politiques de réseau et de sécurité basées sur le contexte de l’utilisateur et de l’application.

Versa SASE réunit les avantages de la mise en réseau et de la sécurité avec un déploiement et une exploitation simplifiés de plusieurs services de sécurité. Les opérations en cours sont orchestrées par la plateforme de gestion Versa Director qui fournit une console unique et un ensemble de politiques pour tous les services Versa SASE. Plus de détails sont donnés dans les recommandations et le rapport de NSS Labs sur Versa.

Livre électronique gratuit

SASE
pour les nuls

Découvrez le contexte commercial et technique de SASE, y compris les meilleures pratiques, les déploiements réels chez les clients et les avantages d’une organisation dotée de SASE.

Secure Access Service Edge (SASE)

Secure Access Service Edge, or SASE, is an emerging cybersecurity concept. In this video, you understand how the key capabilities of SASE address the demands of growing network sprawl and the challenges of digitally transforming your business.

Versa for Work-From-Home

Versa has made it simple for organizations to offer Secure SD-WAN for Work-From-Home users on home appliances or working from anywhere

Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Gartner Magic Quadrant for WAN Edge Infrastructure, 2020

Gartner 2020 Magic Quadrant report analyzes the various vendors in the WAN edge market and Versa is positioned as a Leader.

Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

 
Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

What is SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)?


SASE (Secure Access Service Edge) is a cloud-native technology that establishes network security as an integral, embedded function of the network fabric. SASE supplants legacy services offered by single-purpose point-solutions located in location-locked corporate premises such as data centers.

Gartner’s “The Future of Network Security Is in the Cloud” research reports that in the digital economy security focus shifts from the data center to the identity of the user/device in conjunction with the data context of the communication session. Legacy security overlay solutions fail to provide the agility, flexibility, connectivity and security required in the network fabric that weaves together the digital economy: cloud-native, mobile, everything-connected.

Gartner expects that by 2023, 20% of enterprises will have adopted SWG, CASB, ZTNA and branch FWaaS capabilities from the same vendor, up from less than 5% in 2019. And by 2024, at least 40% of enterprises will have explicit strategies to adopt SASE, up from less than 1% at year-end 2018.

How SASE Has Shifted Network Design Attributes

Hub-and-spoke network designs worked well when the data center was the core of your business and the outlying branch offices accessed the core. Historically, sites were stationary and branch offices a manageable and known number. Your data center hosted applications. Only a small fraction of employees worked from off-premises locations. Security-sensitive work remained on-premises.

Corporate network security hinged on the network perimeter: sophisticated firewalls in the data center; bouncing all Internet traffic via data center firewalls, incurring latency; intrusion-protection appliances in branch sites; VPN tunnels for limited off-premise access.

Digital Transformation Trends Upend Network Designs


The rigid networks of yesterday do not work in the digital economy. Numerous trends have commingled in a digital transformation that upturned every tenet of legacy network designs and traffic patterns.

  • The core of your business is now “the network”: private and public clouds of interconnected peer networks.
  • Applications float around these clouds. They are accessed—and accessible—from everywhere.
  • Internet connectivity is cheap, ubiquitous and instantly available on cellular networks. MPLS link “security” is no longer affordable or practical.
  • Business applications and data live in the cloud on scalable virtual platforms that grow or shrink on-demand to accommodate your business climate. Their physical location is immaterial.
  • The death-march of hardware product-cycles has been superseded by usage-based subscriptions for cloud-native virtual resources when and where needed.
  • An explosion of devices (IoT) are connected everywhere: sensors, cars, livestock, inventory, monitoring, tracking, surveillance, AI workers, home appliances. These devices often lack even rudimentary security features.
  • User devices are Bring-Your-Own-Device (BYOD): mobile; personal (not controlled by IT); always connected; running user-choice software, applications and network connections; and are used interchangeably for personal and business purposes.
  • Traffic patterns are meshed, any-to-any, wholly unsuited to VPNs.

More than Networks are Changing

In an assessment of industry trends, Zeus Kerravala, principal analyst at ZK Research, finds that 51% of CxOs do not know what their industry will look like in 2023; 48% fear their company could be obsolete within 5 years; 55% of the Fortune-1000 in the year 2000 are now gone; and expects a 50% turnover in the S&P in the next five years.

Worldwide COVID-19 social distancing directives resulted in momentous changes in the work-from-home, video communications and distance learning landscapes. Internet, service provider and enterprise traffic patterns are permanently altered.

Cloud-Native SASE Architectures

The agility to address these changes is key for survival in the digital economy. A Gartner blog by Andrew Lerner defines SASE as the convergence of wide area networking (WAN) and network security services like CASB, FWaaS and Zero Trust (ZTNA) into a single, cloud-native service model.

SASE Delivers Key Capabilities

SASE delivers attributes to address to digital transformation:

  • You have complete flexibility in where and when security services are applied when security is integral to the network fabric. Meshed traffic patterns are handled with efficiency.
  • Security is policy-driven, independent of location, and largely independent of device. This enables security services based on the user’s identity instead of an IT-controlled device, network access point (Internet, cloud, corporate, VPN) or location.
  • SASE applies security based on the communication session and can therefore take into consideration the identity of both the user and the device as well as the data context of the transaction.
  • SASE is a purely software-defined service and does not rely on any hardware appliance or location.
  • SASE can be applied at the ever-shifting, logical edge of the network (a communication session), rather than at the physical “edge” (an IT-controlled device or corporate office).
  • Many IoT devices have little to no local security capabilities. SASE, with security in the network fabric, can safely connect these devices.

SASE FAQs


What are some major SASE components?

SASE is an entire package of technologies that embeds security into the global fabric of the network. Major components of SASE are Software-defined WAN (SD-WAN), Cloud Access Security Broker (CASB), NGFW and Firewall-as-a-Service (FWaaS), Zero Trust Network Access (ZTNA), and Secure Web Gateways (SWG). 

What is SASE architecture?

The core of SASE architecture is comprised of the users, devices, applications, and resources, and the identity, risks, roles, profiles, privileges and policies that govern access between them. SASE architecture is the convergence and inversion of both network and security architectures. 

What kind of company should use SASE?

Organizations large and small benefit from SASE because it is cloud-native, simple, and secure. SASE enabled organizations can enable secure and reliable Work-from-Anywhere (WFA) environments and secure access while maintaining their rate of cloud adoption. 

What are the primary SASE benefits?

SASE provides many benefits by consolidating networking and security functions traditionally delivered as point products. Benefits include reducing costs and complexity, achieving a least-privileged model, ensuring consistent policy enforcement, reducing the overall attack surface, and delivering a seamless user experience. 

How do you adopt SASE?

SASE encompasses a combination of networking and security technologies. Some experts expect enterprise to adopt a hybrid approach to SASE: using existing security and networking systems, while gradually implementing SASE technology to scale large numbers of unmanaged devices, WFA users, and cloud-hosted resources. 

What are the challenges with SASE?

As with the adoption of any new technologies, SASE can come with bumps on the road. Some points to consider when evaluating SASE are the scalability of the SASE architecture proposed, distribution of cloud gateways, SASE vendor skillset, and integration and interoperability of the SASE solution. Choosing the right SASE strategy can ease the path of a successful implementation. 

Why is SASE necessary?

SASE is necessary for today’s modern client-to-cloud era, enabling effective cloud adoption and digital transformation, consistent cloud performance for WFA and mobile users, ubiquitous policy enforcement across your network, securing unmanaged devices, sophisticated and up to date threat intelligence, and simplifying IT management. 

How can SASE help you and your organization?

SASE can help your organization in many ways from solving problems with traditional WAN architectures, presenting new digital transformation opportunities for your business, to increasing IT staff effectiveness. Other benefits include: reducing costs and IT complexity, securing remote and mobile users, ensuring consistent policy throughout your network, and optimizing network performance and user experience. 

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)


Versa offers a unique converged SASE solution in an integrated single-stack, hardware-agnostic software-only offering that scales to the needs of any network.

  • Versa Operating System (VOS™) is multi-service, multi-tenant software built on cloud principles to deliver scale, segmentation, programmability and automation. It provides integrated networking and security functions in a single software stack.
  • Versa Director simplifies and automates orchestration of network and security services.
  • Versa Analytics provides visibility, correlation and predictive analysis for network, application usage and security events.

Versa SASE incorporates core capabilities to enable seamless and secure connectivity globally.

  • Multi-Service with Layered Security: Integrated L3-L7 network services with multiple layers of robust security.
  • Cloud-Native & Elastic: Built on cloud principles for elasticity and automation.
  • Segmentation: Multi-tenancy enables complete isolation.
  • Context-based Policy: Network and security policies based on user and application context.

Versa SASE brings together the benefits of networking and security with simplified deployment and operation of multiple security services. Ongoing operations are orchestrated through the Versa Director management platform which provides a single console and set of policies across all Versa SASE services. More details are given in the NSS Labs recommendations and report on Versa.

Free eBook

SASE
For Dummies

Learn the business and technical background of SASE including best practices, real-life customer deployments, and the benefits that come with a SASE enabled organization.