Secure Access Service Edge (SASE)

Secure Access Service Edge, or SASE, is an emerging cybersecurity concept. In this video, you understand how the key capabilities of SASE address the demands of growing network sprawl and the challenges of digitally transforming your business.

Versa for Work-From-Home

Versa has made it simple for organizations to offer Secure SD-WAN for Work-From-Home users on home appliances or working from anywhere.

 
 
Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

IDS contre IPS : Différences entre IDS et IPS



Introduction aux systèmes de détection d’intrusion (Intrusion Detection Systems, IDS) et aux systèmes de protection contre les intrusions (Intrusion Protection Systems, IPS)

Qu’est-ce qu’un IDS ?

Les IDS ou « systèmes de détection d’intrusion » sont des logiciels spécialement conçus pour protéger un réseau ou un système contre le trafic malveillant. Toute activité d’apparence dangereuse est souvent signalée à un administrateur.

Qu’est-ce qu’un IPS ?

IPS ou « système de prévention des intrusions » (également connu sous le nom de « systèmes de détection et de prévention des intrusions » ou IPDS), est une application qui fonctionne en identifiant, signalant et même en prévenant les logiciels malveillants potentiels.

Quelle est la différence entre IDS et IPS ?

Comme un pare-feu, l’IPS est déployé en ligne avec le flux de trafic. L’IPS est un composant réseau actif qui examine chaque paquet qui passe et prend les mesures correctives appropriées en fonction de sa configuration et de sa politique. En revanche, l’IDS est un composant passif qui n’est généralement pas déployé en ligne et qui surveille le flux de trafic par le biais de la technologie span ou tap pour ensuite émettre des notifications.

Fusion des IDS, IPS et pare-feu sur le marché

Les fonctions de détection de l’IDS et de l’IPS se chevauchent souvent et les fournisseurs d’IPS et d’IDS sur le marché intègrent souvent les deux capacités de protection en une seule. Les options de configuration permettent à l’administrateur de contrôler si seules des alertes sont émises (IDS traditionnel), ou si des mesures correctives doivent être prises (IPS traditionnel).

Les technologies IPS et pare-feu peuvent également être intégrées en raison de la similitude de leurs contrôles de politique basés sur des règles. Un pare-feu autorise ou refuse généralement le trafic sur la base des ports ou des adresses source/destination. En revanche, l’IPS compare les modèles de trafic à des signatures et autorise ou refuse les paquets en fonction de toute correspondance de signature trouvée. Par conséquent, les deux produits ont des similitudes dans la façon dont ils peuvent arrêter les activités de trafic suspectes ou malveillantes.

Étant donné que les performances globales de la solution s’améliorent lorsqu’un paquet n’est décomposé et analysé qu’une seule fois, les fournisseurs de sécurité combinent souvent les trois produits afin de maintenir des performances élevées tout en appliquant les politiques, notifications et actions nécessaires.

La connectivité augmente les brèches et la surface d’attaque

Une brèche ou une intrusion est tout accès ou activité non autorisé dans un réseau ou un système informatique. Les auteurs de menaces exploitent diverses méthodes et vulnérabilités pour accéder à des ressources confidentielles, voler des données privées, modifier des données, détruire des ressources ou bloquer l’accès légitime à des ressources afin de nuire à la productivité de l’entreprise. Les acteurs de la menace sont motivés par un large éventail d’objectifs allant du gain monétaire à la vengeance, en passant par les employés mécontents, les conflits idéologiques ou politiques, ou tout simplement pour un avantage concurrentiel.

La surface d’attaque est la zone de votre réseau et des autres opérations numériques potentiellement ouverte à l’intrusion par un accès non autorisé. Plus votre réseau et vos ressources sont connectés, plus la surface d’attaque est étendue.

Traditionnellement, les réseaux internes des entreprises étaient protégés du monde extérieur, soit en refusant complètement l’accès à Internet, soit en ne l’autorisant que derrière le puissant pare-feu du centre de données. Mais avec l’avènement de la transformation numérique – tendances à la mobilité, accès à l’Internet partout, informatique dans le cloud, entreprises et services natifs du cloud, travail à domicile à une échelle inimaginable avant 2020 – les entreprises prospèrent ou échouent désormais en fonction de l’étendue même de leur connectivité. La surface d’attaque est énorme. La vigilance comme l’IPS/IDS est impérative.

Comment les systèmes IDS/IPS détectent-ils les menaces ?

Les systèmes IDS/IPS détectent les activités suspectes ou non autorisées telles que les attaques de phishing, l’infection et la distribution de virus, l’installation et le téléchargement de logiciels malveillants et de ransomwares, les dénis de service (DOS), les attaques de type « man-in-the-middle », les attaques de type jour zéro, les injections SQL, etc. En raison de la croissance du réseau étendu dans le cloud et de la mobilité, il est devenu plus difficile d’arrêter les cyberattaques, tandis que les attaquants sont devenus plus sophistiqués dans leurs tactiques.

Comprendre les menaces de votre organisation

Les menaces connues sont généralement détectées en comparant les modèles de trafic aux modèles de signature. Les bases de données fréquemment mises à jour contiennent d’immenses quantités de signatures caractérisant les menaces existantes. Les systèmes IDS/IPS recherchent en permanence les correspondances avec les signatures connues.

Les menaces inconnues sont des modèles malveillants jamais vus auparavant – parfois des variations évasives de menaces connues – et sont beaucoup plus difficiles à détecter. Les systèmes IDS/IPS utilisent l’analyse comportementale pour identifier les modèles de trafic potentiellement anormaux. Des modèles de comportement « ordinaire » du réseau sont établis et mis à jour grâce à l’apprentissage automatique, l’heuristique et l’intelligence artificielle. L’IDS/IPS compare en permanence le trafic réseau réel avec ces modèles afin de reconnaître un comportement potentiellement incohérent qui pourrait indiquer une intrusion.

Les différents types d’IPS et d’IDS


Comprendre les types de systèmes de détection des intrusions (IDS)

Les systèmes de détection d’intrusion se présentent généralement sous deux formes :

  • Les systèmes de détection d’intrusion en réseau (NIDS) : Le système fait partie de l’infrastructure du réseau et surveille les paquets lorsqu’ils circulent sur le réseau. Les NIDS co-habitent généralement avec des dispositifs qui ont une capacité de span, tap ou mirroring, tels que les commutateurs.
  • Systèmes de détection d’intrusion basés sur l’hôte (HIDS) : Ce logiciel réside sur le client, l’ordinateur ou le serveur et surveille les événements et les fichiers sur le dispositif.

Comprendre les types de systèmes de protection contre les intrusions (IPS)

Il existe plusieurs types de systèmes de protection contre les intrusions :

  • Système de prévention des intrusions basé sur le réseau (NIPS) : Ce système est déployé en ligne dans l’infrastructure du réseau et examine tout le trafic dans l’ensemble du réseau.
  • Système de prévention des intrusions sans fil (WIPS) : Ce système fait partie de l’infrastructure du réseau sans fil et examine tout le trafic sans fil.
  • Système de prévention des intrusions basé sur l’hôte (HIPS) : Ce logiciel réside sur le client, l’ordinateur ou le serveur et surveille les événements et les fichiers sur le dispositif.
  • IPS comportemental : Ce système fait partie de l’infrastructure du réseau et examine tout le trafic à la recherche de modèles et de comportements inhabituels dans l’ensemble du réseau.

Le Secure SD-WAN nécessite les deux systèmes IDS/IPS

L’architecture Secure Cloud IP de Versa offre une solution Secure SD-WAN unique en son genre, sous la forme d’une offre intégrée à pile unique, agnostique sur le plan matériel et uniquement logicielle, qui s’adapte aux besoins de tout réseau. L’intégration de la sécurité dans la structure même de la solution simplifie votre architecture réseau, réduit le nombre de dispositifs à gérer et limite la surface d’attaque.

L’architecture de traitement parallèle à passage unique du Secure SD-WAN de Versa garantit les meilleures performances d’inspection IDS/IPS et évite d’avoir recours à des dispositifs d’inspection des intrusions dédiés et à usage unique. L’intégration de base de la sécurité au sein de la pile Versa garantit que la fonctionnalité IDS/IPS complète est disponible partout dans votre réseau pour vous protéger contre chaque connexion Internet, réseau public, appareil mobile personnel ou IdO.

Le Secure SD-WAN de Versa offre plus qu’un simple IDS/IPS

Un aspect essentiel de la sécurité définie par logiciel Secure SD-WAN de Versa est l’intelligence contextuelle et la connaissance des utilisateurs, des appareils, des sites, des circuits et des clouds. Cela permet d’établir des politiques robustes et dynamiques qui prennent en charge une posture de sécurité à plusieurs niveaux. Par exemple, le service informatique peut déployer des politiques IPS contextuelles pour des utilisateurs et des appareils spécifiques, lors de l’utilisation de certaines liaisons site à site ou Internet.

La véritable architecture multi-locataire de Versa – qui englobe une segmentation et une isolation complètes des plans de données, de contrôle et de gestion – signifie que des politiques IDS/IPS personnalisées peuvent être définies pour chaque sous-réseau, organisation ou unité commerciale au sein de votre réseau.

Secure Access Service Edge (SASE)

Secure Access Service Edge, or SASE, is an emerging cybersecurity concept. In this video, you understand how the key capabilities of SASE address the demands of growing network sprawl and the challenges of digitally transforming your business.

Versa for Work-From-Home

Versa has made it simple for organizations to offer Secure SD-WAN for Work-From-Home users on home appliances or working from anywhere

Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Gartner Magic Quadrant for WAN Edge Infrastructure, 2020

Gartner 2020 Magic Quadrant report analyzes the various vendors in the WAN edge market and Versa is positioned as a Leader.

Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

 
Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

IDS vs IPS: Differences Between IDS and IPS



An Introduction to Intrusion Detection Systems (IDS) & Intrusion Protection Systems (IPS)

What is IDS?

IDS or “intrusion detection systems” is a specially made software designed to protect a network or system against malicious traffic. Any dangerous looking activity is often reported to an administrator.

What is IPS?

IPS or “intrusion prevention system” (also known as “intrusion detection and prevention systems” or IPDS), is an application that works by identifying, reporting, and even preventing potential malware.

What is the Difference between IDS and IPS?

Similar to a firewall, IPS is deployed inline to the traffic flow. IPS is an active network component that examines every passing packet and takes the correct remedial action per its configuration and policy. In contrast, IDS is a passive component typically not deployed inline and instead monitors the traffic flow via span or tap technology to then raise notifications.

Merging of IDS, IPS, and Firewall in the Market

The detection function of IDS and IPS often overlap and IPS and IDS vendors on the market often integrate both protection capabilities into one. Configuration options allow the administrator to control whether only alerts are raised (traditional IDS), or whether remediating action need to be taken (traditional IPS).

IPS and firewall technology may also be integrated due to the similarity of their rule-based policy controls. A firewall typically allows or denies traffic based on ports or the source/destination addresses. In contrast, IPS compares traffic patterns to signatures and allows or drops packets based on any signature matches found. Therefore, both products have similarities in how they can stop suspicious or malicious traffic activity.

Because overall solution performance improves when unpacking and analyzing a packet only once, security vendors often combine all three products so that they can both keep performance high but enforce the necessary policies, notifications, and actions.

Connectivity Increases Breaches and Attack Surface

A breach or intrusion is any unauthorized access or activity in a network or computing system. Threat actors exploit diverse methods and vulnerabilities to access confidential resources, steal private data, alter data, destroy resources, or block legitimate access to resources to impair productive business operation. Threat actors are motivated by a wide range of goals ranging from monetary gain, revenge, disgruntled employees, ideological or political conflict, or simply for a competitive advantage.

The attack surface is the area of your network and other digital operations potentially open to intrusion by unauthorized access. The more connected your network and resources are, the broader the attack surface.

Traditionally, internal enterprise networks were shielded from the outside world either by denying Internet access altogether or by allowing it only behind the beefy firewall in the data center. But with the advent of the digital transformation—trends in mobility, Internet access everywhere, cloud-based computing, cloud-native companies and services, work-from-home on a scale unimaginable before 2020—businesses now thrive or fail on the very extent of their connectivity. The attack surface is huge. Vigilance like IPS/IDS is imperative.

How Does IDS/IPS Detect Threats?

IDS/IPS systems detect suspicious or unauthorized activity such as phishing attacks, virus infection and distribution, malware and ransomware installation and download, denial of service (DOS), man-in-the-middle attacks, zero-day attacks, SQL injection, and more. Because of the growth in cloud WAN and mobility, stopping cyber-attacks have become more difficult all while attackers have become more sophisticated in their tactics.

Understanding Your Organization’s Threats

Known threats are typically detected by matching traffic patterns against signature patterns. Frequently updated databases contain vast troves of signatures characterizing existing threats. IDS/IPS systems continuously look for matches against known signatures.

Unknown threats are malicious patterns never seen before—sometimes evasive variations of known threats—and are significantly more arduous to detect. IDS/IPS uses behavioral analysis to pinpoint potentially anomalous traffic patterns. Models of “ordinary” network behavior are established and updated using machine learning, heuristics, and AI. IDS/IPS continuously compares actual network traffic with these models to recognize potentially inconsistent behavior that might indicate an intrusion event.

A Deep Dive Into IPS and IDS


Understanding the Types of Intrusion Detection Systems (IDS)

Intrusion Detection Systems generally come in two flavors:

  • Network Intrusion Detection Systems (NIDS): The system is part of the network infrastructure and monitors packets as they flow through the network. NIDS usually co-resides with devices that have span, tap, or mirroring capability, such as switches.
  • Host-Based Intrusion Detection Systems (HIDS): This software resides on the client, computer, or server devices, and monitors events and files on the device.

Understanding the Types of Intrusion Protection Systems (IPS)

There are multiple types of Intrusion Protection Systems:

  • Network-based Intrusion Prevention System (NIPS): This system is deployed inline in the network infrastructure and examines all traffic in the entire network.
  • Wireless Intrusion Prevention System (WIPS): This system is part of the wireless network infrastructure and examines all wireless traffic.
  • Host-based Intrusion Prevention System (HIPS): This software resides on the client, computer, or server devices, and monitors events and files on the device.
  • Behavior IPS: This system is part of the network infrastructure and examines all traffic for unusual patterns and behavior in the entire network.

Secure SD-WAN Requires Both IDS/IPS

Versa’s Secure Cloud IP Architecture offers a unique Secure SD-WAN solution in an integrated single-stack, hardware-agnostic software-only offering that scales to the needs of any network. The integration of security into the very fabric of the solution simplifies your network architecture, reduces the number of devices to manage, and limits the attack surface.

The Versa Secure SD-WAN single-pass parallel-processing architecture ensures the highest IDS/IPS inspection performance and obviates the need for dedicated single-purpose intrusion inspection devices. Ground-up integration of security within the Versa stack ensures full IDS/IPS functionality is available everywhere in your network to protect against every Internet, public network, personal mobile device, or IoT connection.

Versa Secure SD-WAN Delivers More than Just IDS/IPS

A key aspect of Versa’s Secure SD-WAN software-defined security is the contextual intelligence and awareness of users, devices, sites, circuits, and clouds. This enables robust and dynamic policies that support a multi-layered security posture. For example, IT can deploy contextual IPS policies for specific users and devices, when utilizing certain site-to-site or Internet links.

Versa’s true multi-tenant architecture—which encompasses complete segmentation and isolation of the data, control, and management planes—means that customized IDS/IPS policies can be defined for every sub-network, organization, or business unit within your network.