Secure Access Service Edge (SASE)

Secure Access Service Edge, or SASE, is an emerging cybersecurity concept. In this video, you understand how the key capabilities of SASE address the demands of growing network sprawl and the challenges of digitally transforming your business.

Versa for Work-From-Home

Versa has made it simple for organizations to offer Secure SD-WAN for Work-From-Home users on home appliances or working from anywhere.

 
 
Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

IDS vs. IPS: Unterschiede zwischen IDS und IPS



Eine Einführung in Intrusion Detection Systeme (IDS) und Intrusion Protection Systeme (IPS)

Was ist ein IDS?

IDS oder „Intrusion Detection Systeme“ (Systeme zur Erkennung von Eindringlingen) ist eine speziell entwickelte Software zum Schutz eines Netzwerks oder Systems vor bösartigem Datenverkehr. Gefährlich aussehende Aktivitäten werden oft an einen Administrator gemeldet.

Was ist ein IPS?

IPS oder „Intrusion Prevention System“ (auch bekannt als „Intrusion Detection and Prevention Systeme“ oder IPDS) ist eine Anwendung zur Erkennung, Meldung und sogar Verhinderung potenzieller Malware.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen IDS und IPS?

Ähnlich wie eine Firewall wird IPS in den Verkehrsfluss integriert. IPS ist eine aktive Netzwerkkomponente, die jedes durchlaufende Paket untersucht und je nach Konfiguration und Richtlinie die richtigen Abhilfemaßnahmen ergreift. Im Gegensatz dazu ist IDS eine passive Komponente, die in der Regel nicht integriert ist und stattdessen den Datenverkehr über Span- oder Tap-Technologie überwacht, um dann Benachrichtigungen auszulösen.

Zusammenführung von IDS, IPS und Firewall auf dem Markt

Die Erkennungsfunktionen von IDS und IPS überschneiden sich häufig. Die auf dem Markt befindlichen IPS- und IDS-Anbieter integrieren häufig beide Schutzfunktionen in einer. Mit Hilfe von Konfigurationsoptionen kann der Administrator steuern, ob nur Warnungen ausgegeben werden (traditionelles IDS) oder ob Abhilfemaßnahmen ergriffen werden müssen (traditionelles IPS).

IPS- und Firewall-Technologie können auch aufgrund der Ähnlichkeit ihrer regelbasierten Richtlinienkontrollen integriert werden. Eine Firewall erlaubt oder verweigert in der Regel den Datenverkehr auf der Grundlage von Ports oder Quell-/Zieladressen. Im Gegensatz dazu vergleicht IPS Datenverkehrsmuster mit Signaturen und erlaubt oder verbietet Pakete auf der Grundlage der gefundenen Signaturübereinstimmungen. Somit haben beide Produkte Ähnlichkeiten in der Art und Weise, wie sie verdächtigen oder bösartigen Datenverkehr stoppen können.

Da sich die Gesamtleistung der Lösung verbessert, wenn ein Paket nur einmal entpackt und analysiert wird, kombinieren die Sicherheitsanbieter häufig alle drei Produkte. So können sie sowohl die Leistung auf einem hohen Niveau halten als auch die erforderlichen Richtlinien, Benachrichtigungen und Maßnahmen durchsetzen.

Konnektivität vergrößert Sicherheitslücken und Angriffsfläche

Unter einer Sicherheitsverletzung oder einem Eindringen versteht man jeden unbefugten Zugriff oder jede Aktivität in einem Netzwerk oder Computersystem. Bedrohungsakteure nutzen verschiedene Verfahren und Schwachstellen aus, um Zugriff auf vertrauliche Ressourcen zu erlangen, private Daten zu stehlen, Daten zu verändern, Ressourcen zu zerstören oder den legitimen Zugriff auf Ressourcen zu blockieren und so den produktiven Geschäftsbetrieb zu beeinträchtigen. Bedrohungsakteure haben die unterschiedlichsten Ziele, die von finanziellem Gewinn, Rache, verärgerten Mitarbeitern, ideologischen oder politischen Konflikten bis hin zu einfachen Wettbewerbsvorteilen reichen.

Die Angriffsfläche ist der Bereich Ihres Netzes und anderer digitaler Vorgänge, in den Unbefugte eindringen können. Die Angriffsfläche ist umso größer, je stärker Ihr Netz und Ihre Ressourcen miteinander verbunden sind.

Früher wurden interne Unternehmensnetzwerke von der Außenwelt abgeschirmt, indem der Internetzugang entweder ganz verweigert oder nur hinter der massiven Firewall im Rechenzentrum zugelassen wurde. Aber im Zuge der digitalen Transformation mit Trends wie Mobilität, Internetzugriff von überall, Cloud-basiertem Computing, Cloud-nativen Unternehmen und Diensten sowie Home-Office in einem Ausmaß, das vor 2020 unvorstellbar war, hängt der Erfolg oder Misserfolg von Unternehmen nun vom Ausmaß ihrer Konnektivität ab. Die Angriffsfläche ist riesig. Überwachung wie IPS/IDS ist zwingend erforderlich.

Wie erkennt IDS/IPS Bedrohungen?

IDS/IPS-Systeme erkennen unter anderem verdächtige oder unbefugte Aktivitäten wie Phishing-Angriffe, Vireninfektionen und -verteilungen, die Installation und das Herunterladen von Malware und Ransomware, Denial-of-Service-Angriffe (DOS), Man-in-the-Middle-Angriffe, Zero-Day-Angriffe und SQL-Injection. Aufgrund der Verbreitung von Cloud-WAN und Mobilität ist es schwieriger geworden, Cyberangriffe zu stoppen. Gleichzeitig sind die Taktiken der Angreifer immer geschickter geworden.

Bedrohungen für Ihr Unternehmen verstehen

Bekannte Bedrohungen werden in der Regel durch den Abgleich von Verkehrsmustern mit Signaturmustern erkannt. Regelmäßig aktualisierte Datenbanken enthalten große Mengen an Signaturen, die bestehende Bedrohungen charakterisieren. IDS/IPS-Systeme suchen ständig nach Übereinstimmungen mit bekannten Signaturen.

Unterunbekannten Bedrohungen versteht man bösartige Muster, die noch nie zuvor gesehen wurden. Manchmal handelt es sich dabei um ausweichende Varianten bekannter Bedrohungen, deren Erkennung wesentlich schwieriger ist. IDS/IPS verwendet Verhaltensanalysen, um potenziell anormale Verkehrsmuster zu erkennen. Modelle des „normalen“ Netzwerkverhaltens werden mithilfe von maschinellem Lernen, Heuristiken und KI erstellt und aktualisiert. IDS/IPS vergleicht den tatsächlichen Netzwerkverkehr kontinuierlich mit diesen Modellen, um potenziell inkonsistentes Verhalten zu erkennen, das auf ein Eindringungsereignis hinweisen könnte.

Die verschiedenen Arten von IPS und IDS


Die Arten von Intrusion Detection Systemen (IDS) verstehen

Intrusion Detection Systeme sind im Allgemeinen in zwei Varianten erhältlich:

  • Network Intrusion Detection Systeme (NIDS): Das System ist Teil der Netzinfrastruktur und überwacht die durch das Netz fließenden Datenpakete. NIDS werden in der Regel zusammen mit Geräten eingesetzt, die über Span-, Tap- oder Mirroring-Funktionen verfügen, wie z. B. Switches.
  • Host-basierte Intrusion Detection Systeme (HIDS): Diese Software befindet sich auf den Client-, Computer- oder Servergeräten und überwacht Ereignisse und Dateien auf dem Gerät.

Die Arten von Intrusion Protection Systems (IPS) verstehen

Diese Systeme gibt es in verschiedenen Ausführungen:

  • Netzwerkbasiertes Intrusion Prevention System (NIPS): Dieses System ist in die Netzwerkinfrastruktur integriert und prüft den gesamten Datenverkehr im gesamten Netzwerk.
  • Drahtloses Intrusion Prevention System (WIPS): Dieses System ist Teil der drahtlosen Netzinfrastruktur und prüft den gesamten drahtlosen Datenverkehr.
  • Host-basiertes Intrusion Prevention System (HIPS): Diese Software befindet sich auf den Client-, Computer- oder Servergeräten und überwacht Ereignisse und Dateien auf dem Gerät.
  • Verhaltensgesteuertes IPS: Dieses System ist Teil der Netzwerkinfrastruktur und untersucht den gesamten Datenverkehr auf ungewöhnliche Muster und Verhaltensweisen im gesamten Netzwerk.

Secure SD-WAN erfordert sowohl IDS als auch IPS

Die Secure Cloud IP-Architektur von Versa bietet eine einzigartige Secure SD-WAN-Lösung als integriertes, hardwareunabhängiges reines Single-Stack-Softwareangebot, das sich an die Anforderungen jedes Netzwerks anpassen lässt. Die Integration der Sicherheit in die Struktur der Lösung vereinfacht die Netzwerkarchitektur, reduziert die Anzahl der zu verwaltenden Geräte und begrenzt die Angriffsfläche.

Die Versa Secure SD-WAN-Architektur mit paralleler Single-Pass-Verarbeitung sorgt für höchste IDS/IPS-Überprüfungsleistung und macht dedizierte Einbruchskontrollgeräte für einen einzigen Zweck überflüssig. Die grundlegende Integration der Sicherheit in den Versa-Stack sorgt für eine vollständige IDS/IPS-Funktionalität, die überall in Ihrem Netzwerk verfügbar ist, um jede Internet-, öffentliche Netzwerk-, persönliche Mobilgeräte- oder IoT-Verbindung zu schützen.

Versa Secure SD-WAN bietet mehr als nur IDS/IPS

Ein Schlüsselaspekt der Software-definierten Sicherheit von Versa Secure SD-WAN ist die kontextbezogene Intelligenz und das Bewusstsein für Benutzer, Geräte, Standorte, Leitungen und Clouds. Dies ermöglicht robuste und dynamische Richtlinien, die ein mehrschichtiges Sicherheitskonzept unterstützen. So kann z. B. die IT-Abteilung kontextbezogene IPS-Richtlinien für bestimmte Benutzer und Geräte einrichten, wenn diese bestimmte Standort-zu-Standort- oder Internetverbindungen nutzen.

Die echte Multi-Tenant-Architektur von Versa, die eine vollständige Segmentierung und Isolierung der Daten-, Kontroll- und Verwaltungsebene umfasst, ermöglicht die Definition maßgeschneiderter IDS/IPS-Richtlinien für jedes Teilnetz, jede Organisation oder Geschäftseinheit innerhalb Ihres Netzwerks.

Full-featured SD-WAN Solution Deep Dive

Learn about the capabilities you should expect to find in a full-featured SD-WAN design and how these features operate within the larger Secure SD-WAN architecture.

SD-WAN Growth Report 2020

Futuriom outlines the market trends for SD-WAN in their June 2020 report and provides their predictions for growth and change in the space.

Versa Redefines McLarens F1 Speed Strategy

NTT Communications and Versa Networks provide McLaren with reliability, security, stability, and flexible management of their data traffic flows so they can set up a secure, optimized network connectivity in preparation of race weekend.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

 
Gartner Magic Quadrant for WAN Edge Infrastructure, 2020

Gartner 2020 Magic Quadrant report analyzes the various vendors in the WAN edge market and Versa is positioned as a Leader.

Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

IDS vs. IPS: What is the Difference?



An Introduction to Intrusion Detection Systems (IDS) & Intrusion Protection Systems (IPS)

An Intrusion Detection System (IDS) monitors all network traffic to detect threats and raise alerts to a control system. An Intrusion Protection System (IPS) inspects network traffic, detects threats, and automatically takes action to avert the attack.

What is the Difference between IDS and IPS?

Similar to a firewall, IPS is deployed inline to the traffic flow. IPS is an active network component that examines every passing packet and takes the correct remedial action per its configuration and policy. In contrast, IDS is a passive component typically not deployed inline and instead monitors the traffic flow via span or tap technology to then raise notifications.

Merging of IDS, IPS, and Firewall in the Market

The detection function of IDS and IPS often overlap and IPS and IDS vendors on the market often integrate both protection capabilities into one. Configuration options allow the administrator to control whether only alerts are raised (traditional IDS), or whether remediating action need to be taken (traditional IPS).

IPS and firewall technology may also be integrated due to the similarity of their rule-based policy controls. A firewall typically allows or denies traffic based on ports or the source/destination addresses. In contrast, IPS compares traffic patterns to signatures and allows or drops packets based on any signature matches found. Therefore, both products have similarities in how they can stop suspicious or malicious traffic activity.

Because overall solution performance improves when unpacking and analyzing a packet only once, security vendors often combine all three products so that they can both keep performance high but enforce the necessary policies, notifications, and actions.

Connectivity Increases Breaches and Attack Surface

A breach or intrusion is any unauthorized access or activity in a network or computing system. Threat actors exploit diverse methods and vulnerabilities to access confidential resources, steal private data, alter data, destroy resources, or block legitimate access to resources to impair productive business operation. Threat actors are motivated by a wide range of goals ranging from monetary gain, revenge, disgruntled employees, ideological or political conflict, or simply for a competitive advantage.

The attack surface is the area of your network and other digital operations potentially open to intrusion by unauthorized access. The more connected your network and resources are, the broader the attack surface.

Traditionally, internal enterprise networks were shielded from the outside world either by denying Internet access altogether or by allowing it only behind the beefy firewall in the data center. But with the advent of the digital transformation—trends in mobility, Internet access everywhere, cloud-based computing, cloud-native companies and services, work-from-home on a scale unimaginable before 2020—businesses now thrive or fail on the very extent of their connectivity. The attack surface is huge. Vigilance is imperative.

How Does IDS/IPS Detect Threats?

IDS/IPS systems detect suspicious or unauthorized activity such as phishing attacks, virus infection and distribution, malware and ransomware installation and download, denial of service (DOS), man-in-the-middle attacks, zero-day attacks, SQL injection, and more. Because of the growth in cloud and mobility, stopping cyber-attacks have become more difficult all while attackers have become more sophisticated in their tactics.

Understanding Your Organization’s Threats

Known threats are typically detected by matching traffic patterns against signature patterns. Frequently updated databases contain vast troves of signatures characterizing existing threats. IDS/IPS systems continuously look for matches against known signatures.

Unknown threats are malicious patterns never seen before—sometimes evasive variations of known threats—and are significantly more arduous to detect. IDS/IPS uses behavioral analysis to pinpoint potentially anomalous traffic patterns. Models of “ordinary” network behavior are established and updated using machine learning, heuristics, and AI. IDS/IPS continuously compares actual network traffic with these models to recognize potentially inconsistent behavior that might indicate an intrusion event.

A Deep Dive Into IDS and IPS


Understanding the Types of Intrusion Detection Systems (IDS)

Intrusion Detection Systems generally come in two flavors:

  • Network Intrusion Detection Systems (NIDS): The system is part of the network infrastructure and monitors packets as they flow through the network. NIDS usually co-resides with devices that have span, tap, or mirroring capability, such as switches.
  • Host-Based Intrusion Detection Systems (HIDS): This software resides on the client, computer, or server devices, and monitors events and files on the device.

Understanding the Types of Intrusion Protection Systems (IPS)

There are multiple types of Intrusion Protection Systems:

  • Network-based Intrusion Prevention System (NIPS): This system is deployed inline in the network infrastructure and examines all traffic in the entire network.
  • Wireless Intrusion Prevention System (WIPS): This system is part of the wireless network infrastructure and examines all wireless traffic.
  • Host-based Intrusion Prevention System (HIPS): This software resides on the client, computer, or server devices, and monitors events and files on the device.
  • Behavior IPS: This system is part of the network infrastructure and examines all traffic for unusual patterns and behavior in the entire network.

Secure SD-WAN Requires Both IDS/IPS

Versa’s Secure Cloud IP Architecture offers a unique Secure SD-WAN solution in an integrated single-stack, hardware-agnostic software-only offering that scales to the needs of any network. The integration of security into the very fabric of the solution simplifies your network architecture, reduces the number of devices to manage, and limits the attack surface.

The Versa Secure SD-WAN single-pass parallel-processing architecture ensures the highest IDS/IPS inspection performance and obviates the need for dedicated single-purpose intrusion inspection devices. Ground-up integration of security within the Versa stack ensures full IDS/IPS functionality is available everywhere in your network to protect against every Internet, public network, personal mobile device, or IoT connection.

Versa Secure SD-WAN Delivers More than Just IDS/IPS

A key aspect of Versa’s Secure SD-WAN software-defined security is the contextual intelligence and awareness of users, devices, sites, circuits, and clouds. This enables robust and dynamic policies that support a multi-layered security posture. For example, IT can deploy contextual IPS policies for specific users and devices, when utilizing certain site-to-site or Internet links.

Versa’s true multi-tenant architecture—which encompasses complete segmentation and isolation of the data, control, and management planes—means that customized IDS/IPS policies can be defined for every sub-network, organization, or business unit within your network.