Secure Access Service Edge (SASE)

Secure Access Service Edge, or SASE, is an emerging cybersecurity concept. In this video, you understand how the key capabilities of SASE address the demands of growing network sprawl and the challenges of digitally transforming your business.

Versa for Work-From-Home

Versa has made it simple for organizations to offer Secure SD-WAN for Work-From-Home users on home appliances or working from anywhere.

 
 
Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

SASE sécurisé pour l’industrie manufacturière


Le secteur manufacturier est aujourd’hui farouchement animé par les aspirations de l’industrie 4.0 et des « usines intelligentes », où les pratiques de fabrication traditionnelles et les technologies numériques modernes se rejoignent pour rationaliser les processus, améliorer l’efficacité et réduire les frais généraux.

Les technologies avancées telles que l’IdO, l’apprentissage automatique, la robotique, l’analyse prédictive, l’automatisation, l’impression 3D et le cloud permettent aux fabricants de bénéficier d’une plus grande visibilité, d’une vision critique et d’un meilleur contrôle des processus de la chaîne d’approvisionnement afin de s’adapter et de prospérer sur un marché très volatil et concurrentiel.

Collaboration à distance et défis liés aux succursales

Les sites de production sont géographiquement dispersés, souvent séparés de leurs sièges sociaux et de leurs centres de données. Fournir un accès aux applications critiques à travers ces sites a toujours été un défi avec les applications hébergées dans les centres de données. Le passage au cloud a permis de relever ce défi en rendant les applications et les données facilement accessibles aux employés, quel que soit l’endroit où ils se trouvent.

Les avantages du cloud en termes de rentabilité et d’évolutivité montrent la voie à suivre pour les architectures conventionnelles centrées sur les centres de données. Les fabricants migrent aujourd’hui la plupart des applications, y compris les applications de productivité, ERP, CADD et de back-office, des sites vers le cloud.

Les « usines intelligentes » sont essentiellement conçues avec un puissant réseau de dispositifs IdO, de caméras et de capteurs pour le partage d’informations en temps réel entre les gestionnaires de stocks, les opérateurs, les travailleurs sur le terrain, les fournisseurs, les entrepreneurs et les partenaires. La surveillance en temps réel au niveau granulaire de la santé et des performances des machines aide les employés à prendre des décisions plus rapides et éclairées pour obtenir une meilleure qualité de produit, optimiser la consommation d’énergie et mieux prévoir la maintenance des machines.

Enfin, les robots industriels aident les fabricants à effectuer facilement et efficacement des tâches d’entreposage et d’expédition gigantesques et risquées, en éliminant le besoin d’intervention humaine. L’impression 3D ou la fabrication additive avec une capacité de prototypage rapide aide les fabricants à surmonter les défis de conception complexes et à obtenir des délais plus courts.

« Le marché de la transformation numérique devrait croître à un TCAC de 22,7 % à partir de 2019 pour atteindre 3 294 milliards de dollars en 2025. »

Rapport sur le marché de la transformation numérique par technologie, prévisions mondiales pour 2025

« Sur le plan géographique, la région Amérique du Nord a commandé la plus grande part du marché mondial de la transformation numérique en 2019. »

Rapport sur le marché de la transformation numérique par technologie, prévisions mondiales pour 2025

Les fabricants doivent s’éloigner du réseau WAN traditionnel


La transformation numérique a changé la donne pour le secteur manufacturier, qui ne cesse de s’étendre et de croître. Cependant, les technologies de la prochaine génération exigent des réseaux de la prochaine génération qui soient agiles, rentables et sécurisés pour s’adapter et répondre aux demandes changeantes.

Fonctionnant principalement sur des circuits privés MPLS coûteux et à bande passante limitée, les réseaux WAN existants ne parviennent pas à répondre aux besoins des applications gourmandes en bande passante. Alors que de plus en plus d’applications sont déployées et que de nouvelles plateformes dans le cloud sont adoptées, l’architecture en étoile avec réacheminement du centre de données retarde l’accès aux applications, ralentit les performances et affecte la productivité des utilisateurs.

Avec l’augmentation de l’accès à distance et l’utilisation intensive du cloud, le risque de cyberattaques augmente également, et le réseau WAN existant avec des systèmes de sécurité cloisonnés est incapable de sécuriser les actifs et ressources de conception hébergés dans le cloud. De plus, la complexité de l’architecture matérielle des réseaux WAN traditionnels impose une lutte sans fin pour la gestion du réseau et le déploiement de nouvelles branches, ce qui peut prendre de trois à six mois et retarde considérablement la mise sur le marché.

Si la qualité du réseau varie d’un endroit à l’autre, les opérations dans les zones éloignées ou rurales présentent le plus grand défi. Les processus de fabrication dépendant de systèmes ERP critiques, les fabricants ne peuvent pas se permettre un WAN lent ou peu fiable, qui entraîne des temps d’arrêt et, inévitablement, une perte de productivité et de revenus pour les utilisateurs.

Réduire la complexité et les coûts avec SASE

À la recherche d’une solution de réseau moderne capable de prendre en charge en permanence un volume de trafic accru, d’améliorer la surveillance en temps réel, de sécuriser la connectivité au cloud, de réduire les coûts opérationnels et de catalyser la croissance numérique, les fabricants se tournent désormais vers le Secure SD-WAN.

Le coût, le temps et la complexité liés au démantèlement de l’infrastructure réseau existante ne sont pas nécessaires. Une solution de superposition SD-WAN peut être rentable, déployée rapidement et fonctionner en parallèle avec l’infrastructure existante.

Réseau disponible en permanence

Le Secure SD-WAN offre la possibilité d’agréger plusieurs connexions de tout type, telles que MPLS, large bande, 4G sans fil et LTE. En exploitant toute la bande passante disponible, le Secure SD-WAN rend le réseau suffisamment agile pour prendre en charge des volumes de trafic plus importants et des demandes de bande passante fluctuantes. Ce faisant, il garantit une disponibilité continue du réseau et un accès ininterrompu aux applications d’IA et de RA gourmandes en bande passante. La résilience des liaisons de transport multiples du Secure SD-WAN permet par ailleurs de réduire fortement les coûts de la bande passante induite par MPLS.

Application de haute performance

L’architecture du Secure SD-WAN intègre une intelligence applicative, permettant une inspection approfondie des paquets par le réseau, au-delà de la source et de la destination. Elle hiérarchise intelligemment le trafic applicatif en fonction des politiques de l’entreprise et le dirige automatiquement vers l’itinéraire de transport idéal. Cela permet de s’assurer que les applications fonctionnent toujours sans problème, même pendant les pannes de réseau, améliorant ainsi la fiabilité des applications et la qualité de l’expérience. Cela permet également au service informatique de passer moins de temps à s’occuper des complexités du réseau et d’avoir plus de temps et de concentration sur les applications et les services de l’entreprise.

Gestion et contrôle centralisés

Grâce à la gestion et au contrôle centralisés, le Secure SD-WAN simplifie considérablement le déploiement et la surveillance du réseau étendu. Cette gestion centralisée à l’aide de flux de travail simples, pilotés par des modèles, élimine la configuration monotone susceptible d’entraîner des erreurs. Grâce au déploiement sans contact, le service informatique peut déployer des correctifs, mettre en œuvre des mises à jour de politiques et se conformer strictement aux obligations réglementaires dans toutes les succursales à partir d’un seul orchestrateur central en une seule fois. Le Secure SD-WAN offre également une visibilité granulaire approfondie des applications, des appareils et des utilisateurs afin de détecter et de corriger immédiatement les anomalies. Grâce à un Secure SD-WAN basé dans le cloud, les fabricants peuvent rapidement propager ou intégrer de nouvelles succursales distantes (en moins d’un mois !), et se brancher simplement pour se connecter instantanément aux services du cloud. En éliminant le besoin de visites manuelles sur chaque site de succursale, le Secure SD-WAN permet de réaliser des économies substantielles sur les coûts opérationnels.

Connectivité sécurisée

La segmentation du Secure SD-WAN aide les services informatiques à consolider en toute sécurité des environnements physiques disparates en un seul réseau. Ce faisant, ils peuvent classer les applications en fonction de l’objectif de l’entreprise et isoler le trafic de données confidentielles du trafic habituel de l’entreprise pour une sécurité accrue et une meilleure conformité réglementaire. Par ailleurs, le Secure SD-WAN intègre également une sécurité multi-couche de bout en bout avec des fonctionnalités de pointe telles que le pare-feu de nouvelle génération, le cryptage, la sensibilisation contextuelle, etc. Ces capacités de sécurité plus poussées permettent aux fabricants d’éviter de réacheminemer le trafic du cloud dans les centres de données et d’accéder directement aux données et aux applications dans le cloud, sans craindre les menaces à la sécurité.

Full-featured SD-WAN Solution Deep Dive

Learn about the capabilities you should expect to find in a full-featured SD-WAN design and how these features operate within the larger Secure SD-WAN architecture.

SD-WAN Growth Report 2020

Futuriom outlines the market trends for SD-WAN in their June 2020 report and provides their predictions for growth and change in the space.

Versa Redefines McLarens F1 Speed Strategy

NTT Communications and Versa Networks provide McLaren with reliability, security, stability, and flexible management of their data traffic flows so they can set up a secure, optimized network connectivity in preparation of race weekend.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

 
Gartner Magic Quadrant for WAN Edge Infrastructure, 2020

Gartner 2020 Magic Quadrant report analyzes the various vendors in the WAN edge market and Versa is positioned as a Leader.

Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

Secure SD-WAN for Manufacturing


The manufacturing sector today is fiercely driven by the aspirations of Industry 4.0 and ‘Smart Factories’, where traditional manufacturing practices and modern digital technologies come together to streamline processes, improve efficiency, and reduce overhead costs.

Advanced technologies such as IoT, machine learning, robotics, predictive analytics, automation, 3D printing, and cloud are enabling manufacturers with greater visibility, critical insights, and better control over the supply chain processes to adapt and thrive in a highly volatile, competitive market.

Remote Collaboration and Branch Site Challenges

Manufacturing facilities are geographically spread out, often separated from their corporate offices and data centers. Providing critical application access across these facilities has always been a challenge with applications hosted in data centers. Transitioning to the cloud has helped overcome this challenge by making applications and data easily accessible to employees irrespective of where they are located.

The cost-efficiency and scalability benefits of cloud are showing the way out for conventional data center-focused architectures with manufacturers migrating most applications today, including productivity, ERP, CADD, and back-office applications from on-premises to the cloud.

Smart Factories' are essentially designed with a powerful network of IoT devices, cameras, and sensors for real-time information sharing between inventory managers, operators, field workers, suppliers, contractors, and partners. Real-time granular level monitoring of machine health and performance helps employees make faster, informed decisions to achieve higher product quality, optimize energy consumption, and better predict machine maintenance.

Lastly, industrial robots are helping manufacturers do mammoth and risky warehouse and shipping tasks easily and efficiently, eliminating the need for human intervention. 3D printing or additive manufacturing with rapid prototyping capability is helping manufacturers overcome complex design challenges and achieve shorter lead times.

“Digital transformation market is expected to grow at a CAGR of 22.7% from 2019 to reach $3,294 billion by 2025.”

Digital Transformation Market by Technology, Global Forecast to 2025 Report

“Geographically, North America region commanded the largest share of the global digital transformation market in 2019.”

Digital Transformation Market by Technology, Global Forecast to 2025 Report

Manufacturers Need to Move Away from Legacy WAN


Digital transformation has been a game-changer for the ever-expanding, ever-growing manufacturing sector. However, the next-gen technologies require next-generation networks that are agile, cost-effective, and secure to adapt and fulfill the changing demands.

Run primarily on bandwidth-limited, expensive MPLS private circuits, legacy WAN networks are falling short of meeting the needs of bandwidth-hungry applications. As more applications are deployed, and new cloud platforms are adopted, the hub-and-spoke architecture with data center backhauling is delaying application access, slowing down performance, and affecting user productivity.

With increased remote access and extensive cloud usage, the risk of cyberattacks is also growing, and legacy WAN network with siloed security systems is incapable of securing design assets and resources hosted on the cloud. Further, the complexity of legacy WAN’s hardware-centric architecture makes network management and new branch deployment an endless struggle, taking as long as three to six months, awfully slowing down time-to-market.

While network quality varies from one location to another, operations in remote or rural areas present the greatest challenge. With manufacturing processes dependent on critical ERP systems, manufacturers can’t afford a slow or unreliable WAN, that leads to downtime, and inevitably, loss of user productivity and revenue.

Reduce Complexity and Costs with Secure SD-WAN

In the pursuit of a modern networking solution that can constantly support increased traffic volume, improve real-time monitoring, secure cloud connectivity, reduce operational costs, and catalyze digital growth, manufacturers are now turning to Secure SD-WAN.

The cost, time, and complexity of ripping out existing network infrastructure is not necessary. An SD-WAN overlay can be cost-effective and deployed quickly, working in conjunction with legacy infrastructure.

Always Available Network

Secure SD-WAN offers the ability to aggregate multiple connections of any type, such as MPLS, broadband, wireless 4G, and LTE. By leveraging all available bandwidth, Secure SD-WAN makes the network agile enough to support more traffic volumes, and changing bandwidth demands. Doing so ensures continuous network availability and uninterrupted access to bandwidth-intensive AI and AR applications. Secure SD-WAN’s multiple transport link resilience also helps significantly cut down MPLS driven bandwidth costs.

High Application Performance

Secure SD-WAN architecture embeds application intelligence, enabling deep packet inspection by the network, beyond source and destination. It intelligently prioritizes application traffic based on business-intent policies and automatically directs them across the ideal transport route. This helps ensure mission-critical applications are always running smoothly, even during network outages, further improving application reliability and quality of experience. It also enables IT to spend less time dealing with network complexities and have more time and focus applied to business applications and services.

Centralized Management and Control

With centralized management and control, Secure SD-WAN dramatically simplifies WAN deployment and monitoring. Using simple, template-driven workflows, it eliminates tedious, error-prone configurations. With zero-touch deployment, IT can deploy patches, roll out policy updates, and strictly adhere to regulatory mandates across all branch locations from a single central orchestrator in one-go. Secure SD-WAN also offers deep granular visibility into applications, devices, and users to detect and fix any anomalies immediately. With a cloud-based Secure SD-WAN, manufacturers can quickly propagate or integrate new remote branches (in less than a month!), and simply plug-in to instantly connect to cloud services. By eliminating the need for manual visits to each branch site, Secure SD-WAN also saves substantial operational costs.

Secure Connectivity

Secure SD-WAN ’s segmentation enables IT to securely consolidate disparate physical environments into a single network. In doing so, they can classify applications based on business-intent and isolate sensitive data traffic from the regular corporate traffic for higher security and better regulatory compliance. Additionally, Secure SD-WAN also integrates end-to-end multi-layer security with best-of-breed features such as next-gen firewall, encryption, contextual awareness, and more. These deeper security capabilities allow manufacturers to steer away from data center backhauling of cloud traffic, and instead directly access cloud data and applications, without fearing security risks.