Secure Access Service Edge (SASE)

Secure Access Service Edge, or SASE, is an emerging cybersecurity concept. In this video, you understand how the key capabilities of SASE address the demands of growing network sprawl and the challenges of digitally transforming your business.

Versa for Work-From-Home

Versa has made it simple for organizations to offer Secure SD-WAN for Work-From-Home users on home appliances or working from anywhere.

 
 
Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

Secure SASE für die Fertigung


Die Fertigungsbranche wird heute stark von den Bestrebungen der Industrie 4.0 und der „Smart Factories“ angetrieben, bei denen traditionelle Fertigungsverfahren und moderne digitale Technologien zusammenkommen, um Prozesse zu rationalisieren, die Effizienz zu verbessern und Gemeinkosten zu senken.

Durch fortschrittliche Technologien wie IoT, maschinelles Lernen, Robotik, prädiktive Analysen, Automatisierung, 3D-Druck und die Cloud erhalten Hersteller mehr Transparenz, wichtige Einblicke und eine bessere Kontrolle über die Prozesse in der Lieferkette und können sich so an einen stark schwankenden, wettbewerbsintensiven Markt anpassen und dort erfolgreich sein.

Herausforderungen bei der Remote-Zusammenarbeit und bei Niederlassungen

Die Fertigungsstätten sind geografisch weit verstreut und oft von den Unternehmensniederlassungen und Rechenzentren getrennt. Der Zugriff auf wichtige Anwendungen an diesen Standorten war bei Anwendungen, die in Rechenzentren gehostet werden, schon immer eine Herausforderung. Die Umstellung auf die Cloud hat zur Überwindung dieser Herausforderung beigetragen und den Mitarbeitern einen einfachen Zugriff auf Anwendungen und Daten unabhängig von ihrem Standort ermöglicht.

Die Kosteneffizienz- und Skalierbarkeitsvorteile der Cloud zeigen den Weg aus den konventionellen, auf Rechenzentren ausgerichteten Architekturen auf, da die Hersteller heute die meisten Anwendungen, einschließlich Produktivitäts-, ERP-, CADD- und Back-Office-Anwendungen, von den lokalen Standorten in die Cloud migrieren.

Smart Factories verfügen im Wesentlichen über ein leistungsfähiges Netzwerk von IoT-Geräten, Kameras und Sensoren für den Echtzeit-Informationsaustausch zwischen Bestandsmanagern, Bedienern, Außendienstmitarbeitern, Lieferanten, Auftragnehmern und Partnern. Die detaillierte Echtzeit-Überwachung von Maschinenzustand und -leistung hilft den Mitarbeitern dabei, schnellere und fundierte Entscheidungen zu treffen und so eine höhere Produktqualität zu erzielen, den Energieverbrauch zu optimieren und die Wartung von Maschinen besser vorherzusagen.

Außerdem helfen Industrieroboter den Herstellern bei der einfachen und effizienten Erledigung umfangreicher und risikoreicher Lager- und Versandaufgaben und machen menschliche Eingriffe überflüssig. Der 3D-Druck oder die additive Fertigung mit Kapazitäten zur zügigen Entwicklung von Prototypen hilft Herstellern, komplexe Designherausforderungen zu bewältigen und kürzere Vorlaufzeiten zu erreichen.

„Die durchschnittliche jährliche Wachstumsrate (CAGR) des Marktes für digitale Transformation wird ab 2019 voraussichtlich 22,7 % betragen und bis 2025 3.294 Milliarden US-Dollar erreichen.“

Markt für digitale Transformation nach Technologie, Bericht mit globalen Prognosen bis 2025

„Geografisch gesehen hatte die Region Nordamerika im Jahr 2019 den größten Anteil am globalen Markt für digitale Transformation.“

Markt für digitale Transformation nach Technologie, Bericht mit globalen Prognosen bis 2025

Hersteller müssen von veralteten WANs Abstand nehmen


Die digitale Transformation stellt für die ständig expandierende und wachsende Fertigungsbranche eine bahnbrechende Entwicklung dar. Die Technologien der nächsten Generation benötigen jedoch Netzwerke der nächsten Generation, die flexibel, kosteneffektiv und sicher sind, um sich den wechselnden Anforderungen anzupassen und diese zu erfüllen.

Ältere WAN-Netzwerke laufen hauptsächlich über bandbreitenbegrenzte, teure MPLS-Privatleitungen und werden den Anforderungen der bandbreitenintensiven Anwendungen nicht mehr gerecht. Mit der zunehmenden Bereitstellung von Anwendungen und der Einführung neuer Cloud-Plattformen verzögert die Hub-and-Spoke-Architektur mit Rücktransport ins Rechenzentrum den Anwendungszugriff, verlangsamt die Leistung und beeinträchtigt die Benutzerproduktivität.

Mit dem zunehmenden Fernzugriff und der umfassenden Nutzung der Cloud steigt auch das Risiko von Cyberangriffen, und ein altes WAN-Netzwerk mit isolierten Sicherheitssystemen ist nicht in der Lage, Design-Assets und Ressourcen, die in der Cloud gehostet werden, zu schützen. Hinzu kommt, dass die Komplexität der hardwarezentrierten Architektur des alten WANs das Netzwerkmanagement und die Einrichtung neuer Niederlassungen zu einer Geduldsprobe macht, die drei bis sechs Monate dauert und die Markteinführung erheblich verzögert.

Die Netzqualität variiert zwar von Standort zu Standort, aber die größte Herausforderung stellen Betriebe in abgelegenen oder ländlichen Gebieten dar. Bei Fertigungsprozessen, die von kritischen ERP-Systemen abhängig sind, können sich Hersteller kein langsames oder unzuverlässiges WAN leisten, das zu Ausfallzeiten und unweigerlich zu Produktivitäts- und Umsatzeinbußen bei den Benutzern führt.

Reduzierung von Komplexität und Kosten mit SASE

Auf der Suche nach einer modernen Netzwerklösung, die den zunehmenden Datenverkehr konstant unterstützt, die Echtzeitüberwachung verbessert, die Cloud-Konnektivität sichert, die Betriebskosten senkt und das digitale Wachstum fördert, wendet sich die Hersteller nun an Secure SD-WAN.

Die Kosten, der Zeitaufwand und die Komplexität, die mit dem Austausch der bestehenden Netzwerkinfrastruktur verbunden sind, sind nicht notwendig. Ein SD-WAN-Overlay kann kostengünstig und schnell implementiert werden und funktioniert in Verbindung mit der bestehenden Infrastruktur.

Ständig verfügbares Netzwerk

Secure SD-WAN bietet die Möglichkeit, mehrere Verbindungen jeglicher Art, wie MPLS, Breitband, Wireless 4G und LTE, zu aggregieren. Durch die Nutzung der gesamten verfügbaren Bandbreite macht Secure SD-WAN das Netzwerk flexibel genug, um ein höheres Verkehrsvolumen und wechselnde Bandbreitenanforderungen zu unterstützen. Dies gewährleistet eine kontinuierliche Netzwerkverfügbarkeit und einen ununterbrochenen Zugriff auf bandbreitenintensive KI- und AR-Anwendungen. Die Ausfallsicherheit von Secure SD-WAN über mehrere Transportverbindungen trägt außerdem dazu bei, die durch MPLS verursachten Bandbreitenkosten erheblich zu senken.

Hohe Anwendungsleistung

Die Secure SD-WAN-Architektur beinhaltet Anwendungsintelligenz und ermöglicht eine tiefgreifende Paketprüfung durch das Netzwerk, die über die Quelle und das Ziel hinausgeht. Sie priorisiert den Anwendungsverkehr auf intelligente Weise auf der Grundlage von Unternehmensrichtlinien und leitet ihn automatisch über die ideale Transportroute. Dadurch wird sichergestellt, dass geschäftskritische Anwendungen auch bei Netzwerkausfällen reibungslos funktionieren, was die Zuverlässigkeit der Anwendungen und die Erlebnisqualität weiter verbessert. Außerdem kann sich so die IT-Abteilung weniger mit der Komplexität des Netzwerks befassen und mehr Zeit und Aufmerksamkeit auf die Geschäftsanwendungen und -dienste verwenden.

Zentralisierte Verwaltung und Steuerung

Durch die zentralisierte Verwaltung und Steuerung vereinfacht Secure SD-WAN die WAN-Bereitstellung und -Überwachung drastisch. Dank einfacher, vorlagengesteuerter Workflows entfallen langwierige, fehleranfällige Konfigurationen. Mit der Zero-Touch-Bereitstellung kann das IT-Team von einem einzigen zentralen Orchestrator aus Patches bereitstellen, Richtlinienaktualisierungen durchführen und gesetzliche Vorschriften in allen Niederlassungen strikt einhalten. Secure SD-WAN bietet zudem einen detaillierten Einblick in Anwendungen, Geräte und Benutzer, um Anomalien sofort zu erkennen und zu beheben. Mit einem Cloud-basierten Secure SD-WAN können Hersteller neue Remote-Niederlassungen schnell einrichten oder integrieren (in weniger als einem Monat!) und durch einfaches Plug-in eine sofortige Verbindung zu Cloud-Diensten herstellen. Durch den Wegfall der persönlichen Besuche in den einzelnen Niederlassungen trägt Secure SD-WAN auch zu erheblichen Betriebskosteneinsparungen bei.

Sichere Konnektivität

Mit der Segmentierung von Secure SD-WAN kann die IT-Abteilung unterschiedliche physische Umgebungen sicher in einem einzigen Netzwerk konsolidieren. So können sie Anwendungen auf der Grundlage von Geschäftsabsichten klassifizieren und sensiblen Datenverkehr vom regulären Unternehmensdatenverkehr isolieren, um die Sicherheit zu erhöhen und die Einhaltung von Vorschriften zu verbessern. Zudem integriert Secure SD-WAN eine durchgängige, mehrschichtige Sicherheit mit erstklassigen Funktionen wie Next-Gen-Firewall, Verschlüsselung, kontextuelles Bewusstsein und mehr. Mit diesen umfassenden Sicherheitsfunktionen können Hersteller auf den Rücktransport des Cloud-Datenverkehrs im Rechenzentrum verzichten und stattdessen direkt auf Cloud-Daten und -Anwendungen zugreifen, ohne dabei Sicherheitsrisiken befürchten zu müssen.

Full-featured SD-WAN Solution Deep Dive

Learn about the capabilities you should expect to find in a full-featured SD-WAN design and how these features operate within the larger Secure SD-WAN architecture.

SD-WAN Growth Report 2020

Futuriom outlines the market trends for SD-WAN in their June 2020 report and provides their predictions for growth and change in the space.

Versa Redefines McLarens F1 Speed Strategy

NTT Communications and Versa Networks provide McLaren with reliability, security, stability, and flexible management of their data traffic flows so they can set up a secure, optimized network connectivity in preparation of race weekend.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

 
Gartner Magic Quadrant for WAN Edge Infrastructure, 2020

Gartner 2020 Magic Quadrant report analyzes the various vendors in the WAN edge market and Versa is positioned as a Leader.

Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

Secure SD-WAN for Manufacturing


The manufacturing sector today is fiercely driven by the aspirations of Industry 4.0 and ‘Smart Factories’, where traditional manufacturing practices and modern digital technologies come together to streamline processes, improve efficiency, and reduce overhead costs.

Advanced technologies such as IoT, machine learning, robotics, predictive analytics, automation, 3D printing, and cloud are enabling manufacturers with greater visibility, critical insights, and better control over the supply chain processes to adapt and thrive in a highly volatile, competitive market.

Remote Collaboration and Branch Site Challenges

Manufacturing facilities are geographically spread out, often separated from their corporate offices and data centers. Providing critical application access across these facilities has always been a challenge with applications hosted in data centers. Transitioning to the cloud has helped overcome this challenge by making applications and data easily accessible to employees irrespective of where they are located.

The cost-efficiency and scalability benefits of cloud are showing the way out for conventional data center-focused architectures with manufacturers migrating most applications today, including productivity, ERP, CADD, and back-office applications from on-premises to the cloud.

Smart Factories' are essentially designed with a powerful network of IoT devices, cameras, and sensors for real-time information sharing between inventory managers, operators, field workers, suppliers, contractors, and partners. Real-time granular level monitoring of machine health and performance helps employees make faster, informed decisions to achieve higher product quality, optimize energy consumption, and better predict machine maintenance.

Lastly, industrial robots are helping manufacturers do mammoth and risky warehouse and shipping tasks easily and efficiently, eliminating the need for human intervention. 3D printing or additive manufacturing with rapid prototyping capability is helping manufacturers overcome complex design challenges and achieve shorter lead times.

“Digital transformation market is expected to grow at a CAGR of 22.7% from 2019 to reach $3,294 billion by 2025.”

Digital Transformation Market by Technology, Global Forecast to 2025 Report

“Geographically, North America region commanded the largest share of the global digital transformation market in 2019.”

Digital Transformation Market by Technology, Global Forecast to 2025 Report

Manufacturers Need to Move Away from Legacy WAN


Digital transformation has been a game-changer for the ever-expanding, ever-growing manufacturing sector. However, the next-gen technologies require next-generation networks that are agile, cost-effective, and secure to adapt and fulfill the changing demands.

Run primarily on bandwidth-limited, expensive MPLS private circuits, legacy WAN networks are falling short of meeting the needs of bandwidth-hungry applications. As more applications are deployed, and new cloud platforms are adopted, the hub-and-spoke architecture with data center backhauling is delaying application access, slowing down performance, and affecting user productivity.

With increased remote access and extensive cloud usage, the risk of cyberattacks is also growing, and legacy WAN network with siloed security systems is incapable of securing design assets and resources hosted on the cloud. Further, the complexity of legacy WAN’s hardware-centric architecture makes network management and new branch deployment an endless struggle, taking as long as three to six months, awfully slowing down time-to-market.

While network quality varies from one location to another, operations in remote or rural areas present the greatest challenge. With manufacturing processes dependent on critical ERP systems, manufacturers can’t afford a slow or unreliable WAN, that leads to downtime, and inevitably, loss of user productivity and revenue.

Reduce Complexity and Costs with Secure SD-WAN

In the pursuit of a modern networking solution that can constantly support increased traffic volume, improve real-time monitoring, secure cloud connectivity, reduce operational costs, and catalyze digital growth, manufacturers are now turning to Secure SD-WAN.

The cost, time, and complexity of ripping out existing network infrastructure is not necessary. An SD-WAN overlay can be cost-effective and deployed quickly, working in conjunction with legacy infrastructure.

Always Available Network

Secure SD-WAN offers the ability to aggregate multiple connections of any type, such as MPLS, broadband, wireless 4G, and LTE. By leveraging all available bandwidth, Secure SD-WAN makes the network agile enough to support more traffic volumes, and changing bandwidth demands. Doing so ensures continuous network availability and uninterrupted access to bandwidth-intensive AI and AR applications. Secure SD-WAN’s multiple transport link resilience also helps significantly cut down MPLS driven bandwidth costs.

High Application Performance

Secure SD-WAN architecture embeds application intelligence, enabling deep packet inspection by the network, beyond source and destination. It intelligently prioritizes application traffic based on business-intent policies and automatically directs them across the ideal transport route. This helps ensure mission-critical applications are always running smoothly, even during network outages, further improving application reliability and quality of experience. It also enables IT to spend less time dealing with network complexities and have more time and focus applied to business applications and services.

Centralized Management and Control

With centralized management and control, Secure SD-WAN dramatically simplifies WAN deployment and monitoring. Using simple, template-driven workflows, it eliminates tedious, error-prone configurations. With zero-touch deployment, IT can deploy patches, roll out policy updates, and strictly adhere to regulatory mandates across all branch locations from a single central orchestrator in one-go. Secure SD-WAN also offers deep granular visibility into applications, devices, and users to detect and fix any anomalies immediately. With a cloud-based Secure SD-WAN, manufacturers can quickly propagate or integrate new remote branches (in less than a month!), and simply plug-in to instantly connect to cloud services. By eliminating the need for manual visits to each branch site, Secure SD-WAN also saves substantial operational costs.

Secure Connectivity

Secure SD-WAN ’s segmentation enables IT to securely consolidate disparate physical environments into a single network. In doing so, they can classify applications based on business-intent and isolate sensitive data traffic from the regular corporate traffic for higher security and better regulatory compliance. Additionally, Secure SD-WAN also integrates end-to-end multi-layer security with best-of-breed features such as next-gen firewall, encryption, contextual awareness, and more. These deeper security capabilities allow manufacturers to steer away from data center backhauling of cloud traffic, and instead directly access cloud data and applications, without fearing security risks.