Secure Access Service Edge (SASE)

Secure Access Service Edge, or SASE, is an emerging cybersecurity concept. In this video, you understand how the key capabilities of SASE address the demands of growing network sprawl and the challenges of digitally transforming your business.

Versa for Work-From-Home

Versa has made it simple for organizations to offer Secure SD-WAN for Work-From-Home users on home appliances or working from anywhere.

 
 
Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

Aperçu de la technologie SD-WAN

La technologie SD-WAN, fondée sur les principes du cloud, rend les déploiements dans les succursales simples et directs. Le SD-WAN fourni depuis le cloud englobe de multiples fonctions et capacités qui facilitent l’approvisionnement, le déploiement, ainsi que la gestion et la surveillance continues.

Le SD-WAN ajoute de l’intelligence à un réseau WAN hybride traditionnel


Le réseau WAN hybride a très peu d’intelligence opérationnelle, car il se contente de diriger le trafic sur le même chemin à chaque fois, en utilisant un chemin différent uniquement si le chemin principal n’est plus disponible. En revanche, le réseau WAN hybride géré par SD-WAN permet de manipuler et de contrôler automatiquement le trafic afin de garantir que seul le bon trafic circule sur les meilleures connexions et les meilleurs chemins possibles à tout moment. Le contrôle utilise des politiques commerciales intégrées qui ajustent automatiquement et de manière proactive le trafic en fonction de l’évolution des conditions du réseau et des exigences des applications. Les connexions multiples, quel que soit leur type, sont virtualisées par le biais d’une superposition logicielle qui exploite la totalité de la bande passante agrégée et orchestrée par des politiques granulaires qui automatisent l’ensemble du processus.

Intelligence des applications

Le Secure SD-WAN identifie plus de 2 800 applications spécifiques et utilise ces connaissances pour appliquer une série de politiques de réseau et de sécurité à toutes les connexions d’applications. Il s’agit notamment de mapper les applications à des connexions WAN particulières (par exemple, les applications de l’entreprise principale à MPLS ou le trafic Web grand public à large bande), de donner la priorité aux applications, d’attribuer des politiques de sécurité des applications et de les appliquer (par exemple, bloquer certains types de contenu Web), etc.

Avantages du déploiement du SD-WAN pour les services gérés et les déploiements d’entreprise

Une architecture Secure SD-WAN est une plateforme logicielle multi-locataire et multi-service, native du cloud, dont les principaux composants sont le routage, le SD-WAN et les fonctions de sécurité multi-couche. Le Secure SD-WAN permet aux entreprises de migrer des réseaux WAN existants et de les transformer en réseaux d’entreprise et de succursales définis par logiciel avec une agilité commerciale supérieure, une sécurité et une fiabilité solides et un coût total de possession réduit.

Options de déploiement multiples

Le Secure SD-WAN est une solution NFV logicielle offrant un large éventail d’options de déploiement. Le Secure SD-WAN peut être déployé directement sur des serveurs x86 en métal nu, des dispositifs en boîte blanche, des machines virtuelles (VMware ESXi, KVM) et des conteneurs. Les clients peuvent choisir la meilleure infrastructure pour leur déploiement SD-WAN à la fois dans le centre de données/PoP et dans les succursales, sans être limités par du matériel propriétaire. Il en résulte une réduction significative des dépenses d’investissement et une flexibilité de conception.

Un réseau de succursales simplifié, sécurisé et rentable

Le Secure SD-WAN est construit avec une architecture basée sur VNF qui inclut des fonctions de réseau et de sécurité qui éliminent la prolifération d’appareils monofonctionnels coûteux et complexes. Les clients bénéficient d’un provisionnement sans intervention lors du déploiement d’un ensemble complet de fonctionnalités de réseau et de sécurité, le tout au sein d’un seul équipement de branche.

Services de sécurité flexibles et distribués

Les équipes informatiques peuvent décider de l’emplacement de chaque couche de sécurité requise, soit sur place dans les succursales, soit de manière centralisée dans le centre de données ou le point de présence (PoP) de la colocation. Par exemple, les services à forte intensité informatique tels que le sandboxing des logiciels malveillants, la prévention des intrusions (IPS) et le filtrage antivirus peuvent être exécutés de manière centralisée, tandis que les services clés des succursales, tels que le pare-feu et la passerelle Web sécurisée, peuvent être exécutés localement, l’ensemble des services de sécurité en couches étant défini de manière centralisée à l’aide d’un simple modèle de politique.

Securité sensible au contexte

Un aspect essentiel de la sécurité définie par logiciel du Secure SD-WAN est l’intelligence contextuelle et la connaissance des utilisateurs, des appareils, des sites, des circuits et des clouds. Cette intelligence contextuelle permet d’établir des politiques robustes et dynamiques qui prennent en charge une posture de sécurité à plusieurs niveaux.

Par exemple, l’équipe informatique peut déployer des politiques de réseau et de sécurité contextuelles pour des utilisateurs et des appareils spécifiques, comme l’antivirus et le filtrage des URL, lors de l’utilisation de certaines liaisons site à site ou Internet. L’équipe de sécurité informatique peut même définir des politiques de sécurité uniques, des services différenciés et des chaînes de services de sécurité pour l’accès des invités, l’accès de l’entreprise et les réseaux d’accès des partenaires dans la succursale. La capacité à comprendre le contexte de l’accès permet à l’entreprise de respecter les politiques de sécurité et de conformité de l’entreprise, le tout au sein d’une seule plateforme logicielle unifiée.

SD-WAN conçu pour la main-d’œuvre moderne


Une élasticité qui répond aux exigences de l’entreprise

Lors du déploiement du SD-WAN via un modèle de virtualisation des fonctions réseau (network functions virtualization, NFV), la capacité peut augmenter ou diminuer de manière dynamique sans remplacer ou ajouter de matériel propriétaire.

Par exemple, la bande passante d’une succursale peut être doublée en quelques minutes, soit automatiquement, soit à l’aide de commandes provenant du portail d’approvisionnement central, sans qu’il soit nécessaire de changer de camion ou d’appareil. Si une succursale a besoin de plus de capacité en raison d’un pic de trafic réseau, le SD-WAN peut automatiquement augmenter sa capacité pour répondre à la demande. Lorsque le pic de trafic se résorbe, le SD-WAN se réduit en fonction des besoins.

Une véritable multi-location au niveau de la branche

La multi-location permet de partitionner un réseau unique pour prendre en charge plusieurs clients, départements et fonctions, chaque client ou utilisateur ne pouvant voir et gérer que son segment de locataire. Le Secure SD-WAN est une solution de niveau opérateur avec une multi-location complète à la fois au niveau de la tête de réseau et de la succursale. Les fournisseurs de services exploitant des services gérés SD-WAN et les grandes entreprises exploitant différents SD-WAN pour des entités commerciales distinctes peuvent prendre en charge jusqu’à 250 clients par serveur 1RU unique exécutant le contrôleur Secure SD-WAN.

Au niveau de la succursale, une seule instance du logiciel Secure SD-WAN peut prendre en charge plusieurs locataires ou entités commerciales locales. Par ailleurs, chaque locataire peut prendre en charge le contrôle d’accès basé sur les rôles. Il en résulte des coûts d’infrastructure beaucoup plus faibles, une meilleure sécurité et une prestation de services plus souple.

Segmentation du réseau pour réduire les risques

Les cyberattaques et les violations de réseau sont en augmentation, car la surface d’attaque d’une succursale d’entreprise est de plus en plus exposée. Le SD-WAN peut réduire ces surfaces d’attaque en segmentant le réseau par classe de trafic et en fonction des responsabilités ou des fonctions professionnelles. Cependant, cela ne peut être mis en œuvre qu’avec un SD-WAN qui offre des services complets de réseau et de sécurité au sein d’un seul périphérique ou d’une seule image. Pour réaliser la segmentation, le SD-WAN doit presque exiger la multi-location sur l’ensemble du périmètre du réseau de l’entreprise.

Une architecture de service flexible et distribuée

Avec NFV, les fournisseurs de services et les grandes entreprises ont la possibilité de décider où déployer et exécuter chaque couche de fonctions de réseau ou de sécurité, soit sur place dans la succursale, soit de manière centralisée par le biais du centre de données de l’entreprise ou du point de présence (PoP) du fournisseur de services.

Par exemple, les services à forte intensité de calcul tels que l’antivirus et l’IPS peuvent être exécutés de manière centralisée, tandis que les services essentiels dans la succursale, comme l’identification des applications, le SD-WAN, le routage et le pare-feu, peuvent être exécutés localement. En outre, le Secure SD-WAN peut intégrer des services réseau essentiels en utilisant des définitions de chaînes de services pour les fonctions locales et distantes, en fonction des besoins de l’entreprise.

Opérations centralisées et automatisées

Une approche du SD-WAN définie par logiciel et basée sur NFV simplifie le provisionnement des dispositifs de la succursale et fournit des services de réseau et de sécurité à partir d’un point de contrôle unique. Cela évite de faire appel à du personnel technique sur place pour déployer et configurer la solution. Au lieu de cela, les services SD-WAN peuvent être déployés (la bande passante et la capacité de service sont augmentées ou améliorées automatiquement par des fonctions supplémentaires) sans nécessiter de présence sur site, de rafraîchissement du matériel ou d’interaction manuelle.

Par ailleurs, si une ou plusieurs succursales nécessitent un ensemble unique de fonctions réseau ou de sécurité, elles peuvent être desservies individuellement et automatiquement à partir d’un portail de gestion unique. Le portail de gestion doit permettre une administration basée sur les rôles pour une configuration flexible et une gestion continue des politiques.

Full-featured SD-WAN Solution Deep Dive

Learn about the capabilities you should expect to find in a full-featured SD-WAN design and how these features operate within the larger Secure SD-WAN architecture.

SD-WAN Growth Report 2020

Futuriom outlines the market trends for SD-WAN in their June 2020 report and provides their predictions for growth and change in the space.

Versa Redefines McLarens F1 Speed Strategy

NTT Communications and Versa Networks provide McLaren with reliability, security, stability, and flexible management of their data traffic flows so they can set up a secure, optimized network connectivity in preparation of race weekend.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

 
Gartner Magic Quadrant for WAN Edge Infrastructure, 2020

Gartner 2020 Magic Quadrant report analyzes the various vendors in the WAN edge market and Versa is positioned as a Leader.

Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

SD-WAN Technology Overview

SD-WAN technology, built upon cloud principals, makes branch deployments both easy and straightforward. SD-WAN delivered from the cloud encompasses multiple functions and capabilities that ease provisioning, deployment, and ongoing management and monitoring.

SD-WAN Adds Intelligence to a Traditional Hybrid WAN


Hybrid WAN has very little operational intelligence because it simply directs traffic over the same route each time, only using a different path if the primary path is no longer available. On the other hand, SD-WAN managed hybrid WAN allows for traffic to be automatically manipulated and controlled to ensure that only the right traffic flows over the best possible connections and paths at any given time. The control uses integrated business policies that automatically and proactively adjust traffic based on changing network conditions and application requirements. Multiple connections of any type are virtualized through a software overlay that leverages the entire aggregated bandwidth and orchestrated with granular policies that automate the entire process.

Application Intelligence

Secure SD-WAN identifies over 2800 specific applications and uses that knowledge to apply a range of network and security policies to all application connections. This includes mapping applications to particular WAN connections (e.g. core business applications to MPLS or consumer web traffic to broadband), prioritizing applications, and assigning application security policies and enforcement (e.g. blocking certain types of web content), etc.

Advantages of Deploying SD-WAN for Managed Services and Enterprise Deployments

A Secure SD-WAN architecture is a software-based, cloud-native, multi-tenant, multi-service software platform, with primary components including routing, SD-WAN, and multi-layered security functions. Secure SD-WAN enables organizations to migrate from legacy WANs, transforming them into a software-defined enterprise and branch networks with superior business agility, robust security, and reliability, and lower TCO.

Multiple Deployment Options

Secure SD-WAN is a software-based NFV solution with a broad set of deployment options. Secure SD-WAN can be deployed directly on bare metal x86 servers, white-box appliances, virtual machines (VMware ESXi, KVM), and containers. Customers can select the best infrastructure for their SD-WAN deployment at both the data center/PoP and branch offices, without being constrained by proprietary hardware. This results in significantly lower CapEx and design flexibility.

A Simplified, Secure, and Cost-Effective Branch Network

Secure SD-WAN is built with a VNF-based architecture that includes network and security functions that eliminate costly and complex single-function appliance sprawl. Customers benefit from zero-touch provisioning when deploying a full-featured set of network and security capabilities, all within a single branch appliance.

Flexible and Distributed Security Services

IT teams can decide where to run each layer of required security – either on-premises in branch offices or centrally in the data center or co-location point-of-presence (PoP). For example, compute-intensive services such as malware sandboxing, intrusion prevention (IPS), and AV filtering can be run centrally, while key branch services like firewall and secure web gateway, can be run locally, with the overall set of layered security services defined centrally with a simple policy template.

Context-Aware Security Fabric

A key aspect of Secure SD-WAN’s software-defined security is the contextual intelligence and awareness of users, devices, sites, circuits, and clouds. This contextual intelligence enables robust and dynamic policies that support a multi-layered security posture.

For example, IT can deploy contextual network and security policies for specific users and devices, like anti-virus and URL-filtering, when utilizing certain site-to-site or Internet links. The IT security team can even set unique security policies, differentiated services, and security service-chains for guest access, corporate access, and partner access networks at the branch. The ability to understand the context of access enables the enterprise to meet business security and compliance policies – all within a single unified software platform.

SD-WAN Built for the Modern Workforce


Elasticity That Meets Business Demands

When deploying SD-WAN through a network functions virtualization (NFV) model, capacity can dynamically scale up or down without replacing or adding proprietary hardware.

For example, branch bandwidth can be doubled in minutes either automatically or using commands from the central provisioning portal – with no truck roll or appliance swap-out. If a branch needs more capacity due to a network traffic spike, the SD-WAN can automatically scale up to meet the demand. When the network spike subsides, the SD-WAN will scale down as needed.

Genuine Multi-Tenancy at the Branch

Multi-Tenancy enables the partitioning of a single network to support multiple customers, departments, and job functions, with each customer or user only able to see and manage their tenant segment. Secure SD-WAN is a carrier-grade solution with full multi-tenancy at both the head-end and branch. Service providers operating SD-WAN managed services and large enterprises operating different SD-WANs for separate business entities can support up to 250 customers per single 1RU server running the Secure SD-WAN controller.

At the branch, a single Secure SD-WAN software instance can support multiple local tenants or business entities. Also, each tenant can support role-based access control. The result is much lower infrastructure costs, better security, and more agile service delivery.

Network Segmentation to Reduce Risk

Cyberattacks and network breaches are on the rise as the attack surface of an enterprise branch office increase exposure. SD-WAN can reduce these attack surfaces by segmenting the network by a class of traffic and based on responsibilities or job functions. However, this can only be implemented with an SD-WAN that has full network and security services within a single edge device or image. To achieve segmentation, SD-WAN almost needs to require multi-tenancy across the entire enterprise network perimeter.

A Flexible and Distributed Service Architecture

With NFV, service providers and large enterprises have the flexibility to decide where to deploy and run each layer of network or security functions – either on-premises in the branch office or centrally through the enterprise data center or service provider point-of-presence (PoP).

For example, compute-intensive services such as anti-virus and IPS can run centrally, while services that are key in the branch, like application identification, SD-WAN, routing, and firewall, can run locally. Also, Secure SD-WAN can integrate critical network services using service chain definitions for local and remote functions, depending on the business need.

Centralized, Automated Operations

A software-defined and NFV-based approach to SD-WAN simplifies the provisioning of branch devices and delivers network and security services from a single point of control. This avoids the need for technical personnel on-site to deploy and configure the solution. Instead, SD-WAN services can be deployed (bandwidth and service capacity increased or enhanced with additional functions automatically) all without requiring any on-site presence, hardware refreshes, or manual interaction.

Additionally, if a branch site(s) requires a unique set of network or security functions, the branch can be serviced individually and automatically from a single management portal. The management portal needs to allow for role-based administration for flexible configuration and ongoing policy management.