Secure Access Service Edge (SASE)

Secure Access Service Edge, or SASE, is an emerging cybersecurity concept. In this video, you understand how the key capabilities of SASE address the demands of growing network sprawl and the challenges of digitally transforming your business.

Versa for Work-From-Home

Versa has made it simple for organizations to offer Secure SD-WAN for Work-From-Home users on home appliances or working from anywhere.

 
 
Top Energy Firm Achieves Comprehensive “Work-From-Anywhere” with Versa SASE

A large, publicly traded energy company operating in all areas of the oil and gas industry has dramatically simplified their network stack and realized huge cost savings with Versa SASE.

 
Availability and Buying Options in the Emerging SASE Market

EMA evaluates the different SASE vendors and their approaches to architecture, go-to-market, and support for their cloud-delivered and hybrid services.

 
Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

Versa SASE (Secure Access Service Edge)

SASE is the simplest, most scalable way to continuously secure and connect the millions points of access in and out of the corporate resources regardless of location.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

SD-WAN-Technologie – Überblick

Die auf dem Cloud-Prinzip basierende SD-WAN-Technologie ermöglicht eine einfache und unkomplizierte Bereitstellung für Niederlassungen. Das über die Cloud bereitgestellte SD-WAN umfasst mehrere Funktionen und Möglichkeiten, die die Bereitstellung, Implementierung sowie die laufende Verwaltung und Überwachung erleichtern.

SD-WAN verleiht einem herkömmlichen Hybrid-WAN mehr Intelligenz


EinHybrid-WAN weist nur sehr geringe betriebliche Intelligenz auf, da der Datenverkehr jedes Mal über dieselbe Route geleitet wird und nur dann ein anderer Pfad verwendet wird, wenn der primäre Pfad nicht mehr verfügbar ist. Andererseits ermöglicht das SD-WAN-verwaltete Hybrid-WAN eine automatische Manipulation und Kontrolle des Datenverkehrs, um sicherzustellen, dass zu jedem Zeitpunkt nur der richtige Verkehr über die bestmöglichen Verbindungen und Pfade fließt. Die Steuerung erfolgt über integrierte Unternehmensrichtlinien, die den Datenverkehr automatisch und proaktiv an veränderte Netzwerkbedingungen und Anwendungsanforderungen anpassen. Verschiedene Verbindungen jeglicher Art werden über ein Software-Overlay virtualisiert, das die gesamte aggregierte Bandbreite nutzt und mit detaillierten Richtlinien orchestriert wird, die den gesamten Prozess automatisieren.

Anwendungsintelligenz

Mit Secure SD-WAN werden über 2800 spezifische Anwendungen identifiziert und dieses Wissen genutzt, um eine Reihe von Netzwerk- und Sicherheitsrichtlinien auf alle Anwendungsverbindungen anzuwenden. Dies beinhaltet die Zuordnung von Anwendungen zu bestimmten WAN-Verbindungen (z. B. Kerngeschäftsanwendungen zu MPLS oder Internetverkehr für Verbraucher zu Breitband), die Priorisierung von Anwendungen und die Zuweisung von Anwendungssicherheitsrichtlinien und deren Durchsetzung (z. B. Blockierung bestimmter Arten von Webinhalten) usw.

Vorteile der SD-WAN-Implementierung für Managed Services und Unternehmensimplementierungen

Eine Secure SD-WAN-Architektur ist eine Software-basierte, Cloud-native, mandantenfähige Softwareplattform mit mehreren Diensten, deren Hauptkomponenten Routing, SD-WAN und mehrschichtige Sicherheitsfunktionen beinhalten. Mit Secure SD-WAN können Unternehmen von älteren WANs zu Software-definierten Unternehmens- und Niederlassungsnetzwerken mit überlegener geschäftlicher Flexibilität, zuverlässiger Sicherheit und geringeren Gesamtbetriebskosten migrieren.

Mehrere Bereitstellungsoptionen

Secure SD-WAN ist eine Software-basierte NFV-Lösung mit einer Vielzahl von Bereitstellungsoptionen. Secure SD-WAN kann direkt auf Bare-Metal-x86-Servern, White-Box-Geräten, virtuellen Maschinen (VMware ESXi, KVM) und Containern implementiert werden. Kunden können die beste Infrastruktur für ihre SD-WAN-Bereitstellung sowohl im Rechenzentrum/PoP als auch in Niederlassungen auswählen, ohne durch proprietäre Hardware eingeschränkt zu sein. Das Ergebnis sind deutlich niedrigere Investitionskosten und mehr Flexibilität beim Design.

Ein vereinfachtes, sicheres und kosteneffizientes Netzwerk für Niederlassungen

Secure SD-WAN beruht auf einer VNF-basierten Architektur, die Netzwerk- und Sicherheitsfunktionen beinhaltet und damit kostspielige und komplexe Einzelfunktionsgeräte überflüssig macht. Kunden profitieren von einer Zero-Touch-Bereitstellung bei der Bereitstellung eines vollständigen Satzes von Netzwerk- und Sicherheitsfunktionen, die alle in einem einzigen Niederlassungsgerät enthalten sind.

Flexible und verteilte Sicherheitsdienste

IT-Teams können selbst bestimmen, wo die einzelnen Sicherheitsebenen ausgeführt werden sollen – entweder vor Ort in den Niederlassungen oder zentral im Rechenzentrum oder am Point-of-Presence (PoP) des Kollokationsstandortes. Beispielsweise können rechenintensive Dienste wie Malware-Sandboxing, Intrusion Prevention (IPS) und AV-Filterung zentral ausgeführt werden, während wichtige Niederlassungsdienste wie Firewall und Secure Web Gateway lokal ausgeführt werden können, wobei der Gesamtsatz der mehrschichtigen Sicherheitsdienste zentral mit einer einfachen Richtlinienvorlage definiert wird.

Kontextabhängiges Sicherheitsgefüge

Ein Schlüsselaspekt der Software-definierten Sicherheit von Secure SD-WAN ist die kontextbezogene Intelligenz und das Bewusstsein für Benutzer, Geräte, Standorte, Leitungen und Clouds. Diese kontextbezogene Intelligenz ermöglicht robuste und dynamische Richtlinien, die ein mehrschichtiges Sicherheitskonzept unterstützen.

Zum Beispiel können IT-Teams kontextbezogene Netzwerk- und Sicherheitsrichtlinien für bestimmte Benutzer und bestimmte Geräte einrichten, wie Virenschutz und URL-Filterung, wenn bestimmte Standort-zu-Standort- oder Internetverbindungen genutzt werden. IT-Sicherheitsteams können sogar eindeutige Sicherheitsrichtlinien, differenzierte Dienste und Sicherheitsdienstketten für den Gastzugang, den Unternehmenszugang und Partnerzugangsnetzwerke in der Niederlassung festlegen. Die Fähigkeit, den Kontext des Zugriffs zu verstehen, ermöglicht es dem Unternehmen, die Sicherheits- und Compliance-Richtlinien des Unternehmens zu erfüllen – und das alles mit einer einzigen, einheitlichen Softwareplattform.

SD-WAN für die moderne Belegschaft


Anpassungsfähigkeit an geschäftliche Bedürfnisse

Beim Einsatz von SD-WAN über ein NFV-Modell (Network Functions Virtualization) kann die Kapazität dynamisch erhöht oder verringert werden, ohne dass proprietäre Hardware ausgetauscht oder hinzugefügt werden muss.

Beispielsweise kann die Bandbreite einer Niederlassung innerhalb von Minuten entweder automatisch oder mithilfe von Befehlen des zentralen Bereitstellungsportals verdoppelt werden, ohne dass ein Außeneinsatz erforderlich ist oder ein Gerät ausgetauscht werden muss. Falls eine Niederlassung aufgrund einer Spitzenbelastung des Netzwerks mehr Kapazität benötigt, kann das SD-WAN automatisch aufgestockt werden, um den Bedarf zu decken. Wenn die Spitzenbelastung des Netzwerks nachlässt, wird das SD-WAN nach Bedarf heruntergefahren.

Echte Mandantenfähigkeit in der Niederlassung

Die Mandantenfähigkeit ermöglicht die Partitionierung eines einzigen Netzwerks zur Unterstützung mehrerer Kunden, Abteilungen und Arbeitsfunktionen, wobei jeder Kunde oder Benutzer nur sein eigenes Mandantensegment sehen und verwalten kann. Secure SD-WAN ist eine Carrier-Grade-Lösung mit vollständiger Mandantenfähigkeit sowohl an der Kopfstation als auch an der Niederlassung. Dienstleister, die SD-WAN Managed Services anbieten, und große Unternehmen, die verschiedene SD-WANs für verschiedene Geschäftseinheiten betreiben, können bis zu 250 Kunden pro 1RU-Server unterstützen, auf dem der Secure SD-WAN Controller läuft.

In der Niederlassung kann eine einzige Secure SD-WAN-Softwareinstanz mehrere lokale Mandanten oder Geschäftseinheiten unterstützen. Zudem kann jeder Mandant eine rollenbasierte Zugriffskontrolle unterstützen. Das Ergebnis sind deutlich niedrigere Infrastrukturkosten, bessere Sicherheit und eine flexiblere Servicebereitstellung.

Netzwerksegmentierung zur Risikoverringerung

Cyberangriffe und Netzwerkverletzungen häufen sich aufgrund der zunehmenden Angriffsfläche einer Unternehmensniederlassung. SD-WAN kann diese Angriffsflächen reduzieren, indem das Netzwerk nach Verkehrsklassen und auf der Grundlage von Zuständigkeiten oder Arbeitsfunktionen segmentiert wird. Dies kann allerdings nur mit einem SD-WAN implementiert werden, das über vollständige Netzwerk- und Sicherheitsservices in einem einzigen Edge-Gerät oder Image verfügt. Um eine Segmentierung zu erreichen, ist bei SD-WAN fast eine Mandantenfähigkeit über den gesamten Netzwerkrand des Unternehmens erforderlich.

Eine flexible und verteilte Dienstarchitektur

Mit NFV haben Dienstleister und große Unternehmen die Flexibilität zu entscheiden, wo sie die einzelnen Schichten von Netzwerk- oder Sicherheitsfunktionen bereitstellen und ausführen möchten: entweder in der Niederlassung vor Ort oder zentral über das Rechenzentrum des Unternehmens oder am Point-of-Presence (PoP) eines Dienstleisters.

Beispielsweise können rechenintensive Dienste wie Virenschutz und IPS zentral ausgeführt werden, während Dienste, die in der Niederlassung wichtig sind, wie Anwendungsidentifizierung, SD-WAN, Routing und Firewall, lokal ausgeführt werden können. Zudem kann Secure SD-WAN kritische Netzwerkdienste mit Hilfe von Dienstketten-Definitionen für lokale und entfernte Funktionen je nach Geschäftsbedarf integrieren.

Zentralisierter, automatisierter Betrieb

Ein Software-definierter und NFV-basierter Ansatz für SD-WAN vereinfacht die Bereitstellung von Geräten in Niederlassungen und liefert Netzwerk- und Sicherheitsdienste von einem einzigen Kontrollpunkt aus. Dadurch ist kein technisches Personal vor Ort für die Bereitstellung und Konfiguration der Lösung erforderlich. Stattdessen können SD-WAN-Services bereitgestellt werden (Bandbreite und Servicekapazität werden automatisch erhöht oder um zusätzliche Funktionen erweitert), ohne dass eine Präsenz am Standort, eine Aktualisierung der Hardware oder manuelle Eingriffe erforderlich sind.

Darüber hinaus können Niederlassungen, die spezielle Netzwerk- oder Sicherheitsfunktionen benötigen, individuell und automatisch über ein einziges Verwaltungsportal bedient werden. Das Verwaltungsportal muss in der Lage sein, eine rollenbasierte Verwaltung für eine flexible Konfiguration und laufende Richtlinienverwaltung zu konfigurieren.

Full-featured SD-WAN Solution Deep Dive

Learn about the capabilities you should expect to find in a full-featured SD-WAN design and how these features operate within the larger Secure SD-WAN architecture.

SD-WAN Growth Report 2020

Futuriom outlines the market trends for SD-WAN in their June 2020 report and provides their predictions for growth and change in the space.

Versa Redefines McLarens F1 Speed Strategy

NTT Communications and Versa Networks provide McLaren with reliability, security, stability, and flexible management of their data traffic flows so they can set up a secure, optimized network connectivity in preparation of race weekend.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

 
Gartner Magic Quadrant for WAN Edge Infrastructure, 2020

Gartner 2020 Magic Quadrant report analyzes the various vendors in the WAN edge market and Versa is positioned as a Leader.

Versa Networks - Explained in 1 minute

Learn about the Versa Secure SD-WAN solution in a high-level, one minute overview.

 
Versa Secure SD-WAN – Simple, Secure, and Reliable Branch to Multi-Cloud Connectivity

Versa Secure SD-WAN is a single software platform that offers multi-layered security and enables multi-cloud connectivity for Enterprises.

SD-WAN Technology Overview

SD-WAN technology, built upon cloud principals, makes branch deployments both easy and straightforward. SD-WAN delivered from the cloud encompasses multiple functions and capabilities that ease provisioning, deployment, and ongoing management and monitoring.

SD-WAN Adds Intelligence to a Traditional Hybrid WAN


Hybrid WAN has very little operational intelligence because it simply directs traffic over the same route each time, only using a different path if the primary path is no longer available. On the other hand, SD-WAN managed hybrid WAN allows for traffic to be automatically manipulated and controlled to ensure that only the right traffic flows over the best possible connections and paths at any given time. The control uses integrated business policies that automatically and proactively adjust traffic based on changing network conditions and application requirements. Multiple connections of any type are virtualized through a software overlay that leverages the entire aggregated bandwidth and orchestrated with granular policies that automate the entire process.

Application Intelligence

Secure SD-WAN identifies over 2800 specific applications and uses that knowledge to apply a range of network and security policies to all application connections. This includes mapping applications to particular WAN connections (e.g. core business applications to MPLS or consumer web traffic to broadband), prioritizing applications, and assigning application security policies and enforcement (e.g. blocking certain types of web content), etc.

Advantages of Deploying SD-WAN for Managed Services and Enterprise Deployments

A Secure SD-WAN architecture is a software-based, cloud-native, multi-tenant, multi-service software platform, with primary components including routing, SD-WAN, and multi-layered security functions. Secure SD-WAN enables organizations to migrate from legacy WANs, transforming them into a software-defined enterprise and branch networks with superior business agility, robust security, and reliability, and lower TCO.

Multiple Deployment Options

Secure SD-WAN is a software-based NFV solution with a broad set of deployment options. Secure SD-WAN can be deployed directly on bare metal x86 servers, white-box appliances, virtual machines (VMware ESXi, KVM), and containers. Customers can select the best infrastructure for their SD-WAN deployment at both the data center/PoP and branch offices, without being constrained by proprietary hardware. This results in significantly lower CapEx and design flexibility.

A Simplified, Secure, and Cost-Effective Branch Network

Secure SD-WAN is built with a VNF-based architecture that includes network and security functions that eliminate costly and complex single-function appliance sprawl. Customers benefit from zero-touch provisioning when deploying a full-featured set of network and security capabilities, all within a single branch appliance.

Flexible and Distributed Security Services

IT teams can decide where to run each layer of required security – either on-premises in branch offices or centrally in the data center or co-location point-of-presence (PoP). For example, compute-intensive services such as malware sandboxing, intrusion prevention (IPS), and AV filtering can be run centrally, while key branch services like firewall and secure web gateway, can be run locally, with the overall set of layered security services defined centrally with a simple policy template.

Context-Aware Security Fabric

A key aspect of Secure SD-WAN’s software-defined security is the contextual intelligence and awareness of users, devices, sites, circuits, and clouds. This contextual intelligence enables robust and dynamic policies that support a multi-layered security posture.

For example, IT can deploy contextual network and security policies for specific users and devices, like anti-virus and URL-filtering, when utilizing certain site-to-site or Internet links. The IT security team can even set unique security policies, differentiated services, and security service-chains for guest access, corporate access, and partner access networks at the branch. The ability to understand the context of access enables the enterprise to meet business security and compliance policies – all within a single unified software platform.

SD-WAN Built for the Modern Workforce


Elasticity That Meets Business Demands

When deploying SD-WAN through a network functions virtualization (NFV) model, capacity can dynamically scale up or down without replacing or adding proprietary hardware.

For example, branch bandwidth can be doubled in minutes either automatically or using commands from the central provisioning portal – with no truck roll or appliance swap-out. If a branch needs more capacity due to a network traffic spike, the SD-WAN can automatically scale up to meet the demand. When the network spike subsides, the SD-WAN will scale down as needed.

Genuine Multi-Tenancy at the Branch

Multi-Tenancy enables the partitioning of a single network to support multiple customers, departments, and job functions, with each customer or user only able to see and manage their tenant segment. Secure SD-WAN is a carrier-grade solution with full multi-tenancy at both the head-end and branch. Service providers operating SD-WAN managed services and large enterprises operating different SD-WANs for separate business entities can support up to 250 customers per single 1RU server running the Secure SD-WAN controller.

At the branch, a single Secure SD-WAN software instance can support multiple local tenants or business entities. Also, each tenant can support role-based access control. The result is much lower infrastructure costs, better security, and more agile service delivery.

Network Segmentation to Reduce Risk

Cyberattacks and network breaches are on the rise as the attack surface of an enterprise branch office increase exposure. SD-WAN can reduce these attack surfaces by segmenting the network by a class of traffic and based on responsibilities or job functions. However, this can only be implemented with an SD-WAN that has full network and security services within a single edge device or image. To achieve segmentation, SD-WAN almost needs to require multi-tenancy across the entire enterprise network perimeter.

A Flexible and Distributed Service Architecture

With NFV, service providers and large enterprises have the flexibility to decide where to deploy and run each layer of network or security functions – either on-premises in the branch office or centrally through the enterprise data center or service provider point-of-presence (PoP).

For example, compute-intensive services such as anti-virus and IPS can run centrally, while services that are key in the branch, like application identification, SD-WAN, routing, and firewall, can run locally. Also, Secure SD-WAN can integrate critical network services using service chain definitions for local and remote functions, depending on the business need.

Centralized, Automated Operations

A software-defined and NFV-based approach to SD-WAN simplifies the provisioning of branch devices and delivers network and security services from a single point of control. This avoids the need for technical personnel on-site to deploy and configure the solution. Instead, SD-WAN services can be deployed (bandwidth and service capacity increased or enhanced with additional functions automatically) all without requiring any on-site presence, hardware refreshes, or manual interaction.

Additionally, if a branch site(s) requires a unique set of network or security functions, the branch can be serviced individually and automatically from a single management portal. The management portal needs to allow for role-based administration for flexible configuration and ongoing policy management.